Emergency Medical Services


Lucas Project

   Lucas Project   


South Dakota Office of EMS now has online recertification for EMT's only as well as initial course student registration at the EMT level.                                             

ONLINE EMT RECERTIFICATION -  For EMT's only, use this link to recertify online. You can also update your profile.

ONLINE EMT COURSE INITIAL REGISTRATION (This replaces the bubble forms used at course openings) - Typically, bubble forms were used to register students within SDOEMS system during a course opening.  Now, using this link, it can be done online.


Welcome to the South Dakota Emergency Medical Services (EMS) web site.

In South Dakota, there are 124 ground and 6 air ambulance services.  South Dakota recognizes five levels of Emergency Medical Technicians:

  1. EMT
  2. EMT-Intermediate/85
  3. AEMT
  4. EMT-Intermediate/99
  5. Paramedic

National Registry certification is required for entry into the state EMS System, with the option of national or state recertification.  All Advanced Life Support providers are required to be licensed through the South Dakota Board of Medical and Osteopathic Examiners



   Mission Lifeline Grant Application