Emergency Medical Services

        Lucas Project 

                                                    Lucas Project                


Welcome to the South Dakota Emergency Medical Services (EMS) web site.

In South Dakota, there are 124 ground and 6 air ambulance services.  South Dakota recognizes five levels of Emergency Medical Technicians:

  1. EMT
  2. EMT-Intermediate/85
  3. AEMT
  4. EMT-Intermediate/99
  5. Paramedic

National Registry certification is required for entry into the state EMS System, with the option of national or state recertification.  All Advanced Life Support providers are required to be licensed through the South Dakota Board of Medical and Osteopathic Examiners



   Mission Lifeline Grant Application