State Fire Marshal

Fire Marshal's Advisory Board


Board Meeting Minutes

Fire Marshal's Advisory Board was created under SDCL 24-29B-19

34-29B-19.   Fire Marshal's Advisory Board--Members appointed by governor. A State Fire Marshal's Advisory Board is hereby established consisting of five members who shall be appointed by the Governor. Not all the members may be of the same political party. The Governor shall attempt to appoint individual members to represent the firefighters, fire equipment industry, and the fire insurance underwriters.

Fire Marshal's Advisory Board Members

Richard Broderick  - Rapid City Fire Prevention Division, Rapid City Fire Department

Rich served as a volunteer member of the Clatonia, NE Fire Department from 1995 to 2002.  He began his service as a career firefighter with the Rapid City Fire Department in October of 2002 as a Firefighter Medic, and currently serves as Captain in the Rapid City Fire Prevention Division.  He holds an Associate of Applied Science Degree in Fire Science Technology from Casper Community College in Wyoming.

Mike Harstad – Rosenbauer America

Mike is the Aerial Products Manager for Rosenbauer America in Lyons, SD.  He has worked for Rosenbauer for the past 9 years and has held positions ranging from Director of Marketing to Production Coordinator.  Mike has been a member of the fire service in SD since 1992, currently serving as the Fire Chief for the  Crooks Volunteer Fire Department,  and as the President of the Minnehaha County Fire Chief’s Association.

Jim Strain – Wildland Fire Suppression

Jim started his career in the fire service in 1979 as a seasonal firefighter for the SD Game Fish and Parks Department.  He currently serves as the Assistant Chief of Operations for the Division of Wildland Fire Suppression, SD Department of Agriculture.  Jim graduated from the University of Montana and has completed the Executive Fire Officer Training Program through the National Fire Academy.

Rick Gustad – Platte Fire Department

Rick is the Fire Chief for the City of Platte and has been since 2004.  Rick became the Mayor for the City of Platte in 2008 and still serves in that capacity today.  He serves as an IMAT Team Member with the SD OEM, Board Member SD Firefighters Association, and Board Member on the SD Fire Chiefs Association.  Rick works at B&L Communications as an electronics technician doing engineering, repair and installation of public safety communications equipment.

Jerry Diamond – Independent Insurance Agents of SD

Jerry was born and raised in Mitchell South Dakota, and is a graduate of Dakota Wesleyan University - B.S. in Business Administration.  He started his career with Legislative Audit for the State of S.D.  He has worked in the insurance industry for the past 35 years as Underwriter, Inspector, Trainer, and Field Representative, covering everything from residential to farm and large commercial properties. Jerry has obtained the following designations: Chartered Property Casualty Underwriter ( CPCU); Certified Insurance Counselor (CIC); and his Associate in Underwriting ( AU).  He currently serves as the Executive Vice President of the Independent Insurance Agents of South Dakota ( IIASD ).