22-14-9. Carrying pistol or revolver without a permit as misdemeanor. Any person, other than a law enforcement officer when acting as such, is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor if he:
(1) Carries a pistol or revolver, loaded or unloaded, concealed on or about his person without a permit as provided in chapter 23-7; or
(2) Carries a pistol or revolver, loaded or unloaded, concealed in any vehicle operated by him, without a permit as provided in chapter 23-7.
22-14-9.1. Person possessing concealed pistol to have physical possession of valid permit -- Violation as petty offense -- Charge dismissed. No person may possess a concealed pistol in accordance with chapter 23-7 or this chapter unless that person also has in his or her physical possession a valid South Dakota permit to carry a concealed pistol or a permit effective pursuant to ´┐Ż 23-7-7.3. A violation of this section is a petty offense. However, if within twenty-four hours of being charged with a violation of this section, the person produces a permit to carry a concealed pistol which was valid at the time of the alleged offense in the office of the officer making the demand, the charge shall be dismissed.
22-14-9.2. Holders of permits from reciprocal states subject to South Dakota laws -- Violation a misdemeanor. Any person who is permitted to carry a concealed pistol in a state with which the secretary of state has entered into a reciprocity agreement pursuant to ´┐Ż ´┐Ż 23-7-7.3, 22-14-9.1, 22-1-49.2, 23-7-7, 23-7-7.1, and 23-7-8 may carry a concealed pistol in this state if the permit holder carries the pistol in compliance with the laws of this state. A violation of this section is a Class 1 misdemeanor.
22-14-10. Lawful uses of unloaded pistols or revolvers exempt from concealment prohibition and permit requirement. Section 22-14-9 does not apply to persons who carry one or more unloaded pistols or revolvers for the purpose of, or in connection with, any lawful use, if the unloaded weapon or weapons are carried:
(1) In the trunk or other closed compartment of a vehicle; or
(2) In a closed container which is too large to be effectively concealed on the person or within his clothing. The container may be carried in a vehicle or in any other manner.
Any person who complies with this section may not be required to obtain a permit for the lawful uses herein described.
For more information on Firearms, visit Secretary of State Firearms web page.
If you were involved in an accident and would like a copy of the accident report, click here to visit the South Dakota Office of Accident Records website or call 605.773.3868.
The speed limit on rural Interstate is 80 mph for cars or trucks, day or night, with a minimum speed of 40 mph.
All secondary highways are 65 mph, unless otherwise posted.
School zones and obstructed intersections are 15 mph.
City streets are 25 mph, unless otherwise posted.
All vehicles are required to operate in a reasonable and prudent manner based on the existing driving conditions.
Radar and aircraft are used by the Highway Patrol to check for speeders. Warning signs are posted at the state borders and city limits.
Radar detectors are permitted in passenger vehicles.
Yes. In South Dakota, children under 5 years of age and children weighing less than forty pounds must be properly secured in a child passenger restraint system; however, it is recommended by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration to keep kids in child safety seat until the age of 8, or until they are 4'9" tall.
South Dakota Child Passenger Restraint System Statutes:
- 32-37-1: Use of system required--Violation as petty offense
- 32-37-1.1: Operator to assure that passengers between ages 5 and 18 wear seat belts
- 32-37-1.2: Certain operators required to wear seat belts
- 32-37-1.3: Passengers between ages 14 and 18 required to wear seat belts
- 32-37-2: Exemptions
- 32-37-3: Repealed
- 32-37-4: Violation not considered negligence or assumption of risk--Evidence inadmissible
Seat belts are required for the driver and front seat passengers. Effective July 1, 2001, all occupants 17 years old and under, must wear a seat belt.
South Dakota Seat Belt Statutes:
- 32-38-1: Use required--Public highways--Front seat passenger
- 32-38-2: Passenger vehicle defined
- 32-38-3: Exceptions to required use of safety belts
- 32-38-4: Failure to comply--Evidence
- 32-38-5: Enforcement--Violation as petty offense
- left turn, arm horizontal;
- right turn, arm upward;
- stop or slow, arm downward.
32-32-1 "School bus" defined.
32-32-2 Marking of school bus--When markings to be concealed--Violation as petty offense.
32-32-3 Color of school bus--Exception--Violation as petty offense.
32-32-4 Use of color for other vehicles prohibited--Repainting of buses formerly used-- Violation as petty offense.
32-32-5 Flashing red and amber lights required--Exception--Removal from buses formerly used.
32-32-5.1 Buses covered by lighting requirements--Deadline for meeting requirements.
32-32-5.2 Use of red and amber lights by school bus operator--Violation as misdemeanor.
32-32-6 Duty of motorists to slow or stop in obedience to amber or red signal--Exception for specified highways -- Violation as misdemeanor.
32-32-7 Highways with separate roadways--Buses stopped in loading zones.
32-32-9 Civil penalty against vehicle failing to stop for school bus.
32-32-10 Civil proceeding for penalty--Lien of penalty.
32-32-11 Lien not applicable to vehicle leased or used without owner's consent--Subordination to security interests.
32-32-12 Stop arm signal required.
32-32-13 Transportation of persons attending conventions by school buses.
32-32-14 Head Start buses to be painted school bus yellow.
32-32-16 Deadline for equipping bus with stop arm signal.
A solid yellow line on the right side of the centerline and a no passing sign on the left edge of the roadway indicate no passing zones. Passing must be completed before entering the no passing zone.
It is permitted when overtaking a vehicle making a left-hand turn; on roads with two or more lanes of traffic in each direction; and on one-way streets with two traffic lanes.
Stopping is required when automatic signals indicate an approaching train. Buses transporting passengers, school buses and vehicles transporting hazardous materials are required to stop.
Headlights must be turned on one-half hour after sunset and may be turned off one-half hour before sunrise. Lights are required when conditions restrict visibility to 200 ft. or less. Driving with headlights on during all hours of the day is permitted.
You are required to dim your headlights when approaching a vehicle within 200 ft. or following a vehicle within 200 ft.
They are prohibited unless official.
Parking on the highway is prohibited except in emergencies. Every reasonable effort should be made to alert oncoming traffic of the temporary hazard.
This is permitted unless prohibited by signs.
Studded tires are permitted October 1 to April 30. School buses and municipal fire vehicles are permitted to use studs anytime.
Application of after-market vehicle glass darkening material is permitted and must allow 35% light transparency on certain windows.
Modification of the original vehicle bumper height is permitted.
Wearing of radio headsets while operating a motor vehicle is permitted.
Operation of a motor vehicle by a driver with bare feet is permitted.
Transporting an open alcoholic beverage container within the motor vehicle is illegal, unless it is in the trunk or other separate area from the driver/passengers and is not accessible. It is allowed on charter buses and certain other vehicles by special license.
Use by passenger cars or light trucks while moving on the highway is permitted.
Left lanes on divided highways are not restricted to passing maneuvers.
The South Dakota Highway Patrol discourages this practice because of its inherent danger to passengers.
Use of the cellular phone while driving is permitted. Emergency (911) is available in most areas of South Dakota.
Bicyclists must obey motor vehicle laws and the rules of the road; must ride with traffic; helmet use is not required but highly recommended. Bicyclists are allowed to travel on the interstate system and other roadways unless specifically prohibited. Bicyclist shall ride as close as practicable to the right-hand curb or edge of the roadway. Special events require approval from the Department of Transportation or the local authorities on a highway under their jurisdiction.
A list of bicycle regulation may be found at the South Dakota Department of Transportation web site: http://www.sddot.com/travelers/bicycle/Default.aspx
Pedestrians have the right-of-way within the crosswalk or unmarked crosswalk at intersections.
Yes. The three units cannot exceed 75 feet in length. Unit three cannot exceed 24 feet. The connecting hitch for unit two and three must be part of the frame of unit two. Safety chains and lights are required on all hookups. If unit three exceeds 3,000 lbs., then brake-away brakes are required. Three units are restricted in some areas of the Black Hills.
Vehicles are required to have windshield wipers that are in good working order capable of cleaning a windshield and shall provide a clear view of the highway.