South Dakota's Move Over Law
South Dakota state statute requires motorists in South Dakota to stop when coming from any direction and approaching any stopped authorized emergency vehicle using red visual signals/lights. The law now requires you to move over and slow down when passing any vehicle displaying amber or yellow flashing signals/lights.
The law is aimed at protecting vehicles stopped on the shoulder of the road from being hit by passing vehicles. Protected vehicles include law enforcement, emergency response vehicles, service vehicles (tow trucks, etc.), and motorists experiencing mechanical trouble.
Under the new law, motorists on Interstates and other highways with two or more lanes traveling in the same direction as the stopped vehicle, must merge into the lane farthest from the stopped vehicle and proceed with caution, unless otherwise directed. On two-lane highways, motorists must slow to a speed that is at least 20 miles per hour less than the posted speed limit or slow to 5 miles per hour when the speed limit is posted at 20 miles per hour or less and proceed with caution, unless otherwise directed.
A violation of this law is a Class 2 misdemeanor, which is punishable by a fine of $200 and/or 60 days in jail. Click here to read the law in its entirety.