South Dakota's Teen Driving Taskforce

South Dakota's Teen Driving Taskforce was established during 2011 legislative session with the passage of House Bill 1221.

The taskforce is funded by a federal highway safety grant.  The group is charged with:

  • Examining data on teen driving, including statistics on traffic citations, crashes, injuries, and fatalities.
  • Reviewing current laws affecting teen drivers.
  • Examining data on driver educaton available for teens.
  • Reviewing national best practices to improve safety of young drivers.
  • Examining policies or practices that hinder efforts to improve teen driving safety.

The group will then provide recommendations for improving teen driver safety to the 2013 South Dakota Legislature.

Members of the taskforce are listed below:

Nancy Allard, Unified Judicial System

Bob Clark, Insurance Industry

Staci Eggert, South Dakota Sheriff's Association

John Foster, South Dakota Department of Transportation

Cindy Gerber, South Dakota Driver Licensing Program

Peggy Gibson, State Representative

Rich Greenwald, Oglala Sioux Tribe Chief of Police

Steve Haney, Sioux Falls Police Department

Randy Hartley, South Dakota Highway Patrol

Nick Moser, State Representative

Susan Randall PHD, South Dakota Voices for Children

Todd Schlekeway, State Senator

Mark Swendsen, Dakota Radio Group

Craig Tieszen, State Senator

Taskforce Meeting Agendas:

December 15, 2011

January 27, 2012

March 20, 2012

June 18, 2012

September 24, 2012

Taskforce Meeting Minutes:

December 15, 2011

January 27, 2012

March 20, 2012

June 18, 2012

September 24, 2012

Related Press Releases:

Teen Driving Taskforce Created (12/9/11)

Reports, Related Documents, Findings:

If you have questions regarding the Teen Driving Taskforce, please contact Lee Axdahl by calling 605.773.4949 or by email.