Driver Licensing

Renewing Your Driver License Online or by Mail

Due to federal and state regulations, as of December 31, 2009, with the exception of active duty military members and their dependents, we will not be able to issue renewals/duplicates by mail or online unless the applicant has been issued a federally compliant driver license or ID card.  If you are out-of-state and need a temporary permit to extend your driver license, please email or call us at 605.773.6883.  If you are active duty military or a dependent and you have not applied in person in the last 10 years, your photo may not be on file.  If this is the case you have to apply in person at an exam station. Please call our office to verify whether you have a photo on file and we can check.

*NOTE: The Driver Licensing Program is not responsible for licenses or ID's applied for online or by mail, issued and then lost in the mail. If a license or ID is lost in the mail the applicant will need to reapply and pay for a duplicate license or ID to be issued.

Online Renewal/Duplicate

You may renew your driver license or ID card online once every ten years, provided you meet the following criteria:

  • You must have a federally compliant South Dakota driver license or ID card with a
  • You must provide a vision statment (ONLY South Dakota Department of Public Safety Vision Statements will be accepted click here vision statement) if you are 65 years old or older (the vision exam must be within the past six months and persons wearing bioptic lenses must apply in person and not online)
  • You must provide TWO Proof of address documents which have to be attached to the online application (documents must be no more than one year old) or mailed to Driver Licensing Program, 118 West Capitol Avenue, Pierre, SD 57501.
  • If you are using a South Dakota mail forwarding address, you will need to complete the residency affidavit. you will also need to provide a receipt from a South Dakota hotel/motel, campground or RV park to prove one night stay in within the last year (hand written receipts are not acceptable) and One DOCUMENT (no more than one year old) proving your personal mailbox (PMB) service address (receipts from the PMB businees or a piece of mail with your PMB address on it). If you have friends or family member in South Dakota and plan to use thier address, complete and follow the instructions on consent for use of address form.
  • Military personnel and their dependents stationed overseas may use 2 address documents proving their APO address. Military personnel and their dependents stationed in another state, may provide 2 address documents proving their out-of-state residential address. All other applicants must provide 2 address documents proving their South Dakota residential address.
  • You must have a credit/debit card (Visa or MasterCard) to make your payment
  • You must be a U.S. Citizen or Permanent Resident

To renew your driver license or ID card online, click Online Renewal

Renewing your Driver License by Mail

You may renew your driver license or ID card by mail, provided you meet one of the following criteria:

South Dakota has a law extending the term of license by Members of Armed Forces.  Please click here to read the full law.

Please note:  If you have been issued a driver license or ID card in another state, your South Dakota license or ID card is inactive and you are not eligible for renewal by mail.

Applications that include a name change must be filed in person at any South Dakota driver exam station.  Proof of name change is required.

Renewals by mail, please include the following items:

  • Completed license application
  • Military personnel and their dependents stationed overseas may use 2 address documents proving their APO address. Military personnel and their dependents stationed in another state, may provide 2 address documents proving their out-of-state residential address. All other applicants must provide 2 address documents proving their South Dakota residential address.
  • If you are using a South Dakota mail forwarding address, you will need to complete the residency affidavit.  You will also need to provide a receipt from a South Dakota hotel/motel, campground, or RV park to prove one night stay within the last year (hand written receipts are not acceptable) and ONE DOCUMENT (no more than one year old) proving your personal mailbox (PMB) service address (receipts from the PMB business or a piece of mail with your PMB address on it).  If you have friends or family member in South Dakota and plan to use their address, complete and follow the instructions on the consent for use of address form. 
  • A South Dakota Dept. of Public Safety Vision Statement must be provided if you are 65 years old or older (the vision exam must be within the past six months and persons wearing bioptic lenses must apply in person).  The vision statement cannot be more than 6 months old.  If you are stationed overseas, please have the vision statement completed in English. (ONLY South Dakota Department of Public Safety Vision Statements will be accepted.)
  • Legible photocopies of these documents for online and mail-in renewals or duplicates only.
  • Proof of military status (current military orders).
  • If Peace Corp or missionary, proof of such must be included with application.
  • Application fee:
    $28 fee for Class 1, 2 or 3
    $33 fee for Commercial (Haz-mat endorsement CANNOT be renewed by mail).
    If writing a check, please make it payable to "Department of Public Safety"
  • Active Duty military members, please see SDCL 32-12-45
  • Enclose a self-addressed stamped envelope.

Send to:
Driver Licensing Program
118 West Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501

Note: Applications will not be accepted without the signature and date included on the bottom of the application.

INCOMPLETE OR ILLEGIBLE APPLICATIONS WILL BE RETURNED.

Back to Top


Duplicates by Mail

Due to federal and state regulations, as of December 31, 2009, with the exception of active duty military members and their dependents, we will not be able to issue renewals/duplicates by mail unless the applicant has already been issued a federally compliant driver license or ID card with a .  If you are out-of-state and need a temporary permit to extend your driver license, please email or call 605.773.6883.

Please note:  If you have been issued a driver license or ID card in another state, your South Dakota license or ID card is inactive and you are not eligible for a duplicate by mail.

Applications that include a name change must be filed in person at any South Dakota driver exam station.  Proof of name change is required.

Duplicates by mail, please include the following items:

  • Completed license application
    Signature requirements:

    • All applicants must sign the first page.
    • Applicant signature is required on second page if you are or wish to become an organ donor.
    • Applicants under the age of 18 must have a parent or guardian sign the second page for parental consent.
  • $15 fee.  If sending a check, please make it payable to "Department of Public Safety."
  • Legible photocopies of two proofs of identity (or a photocopy of a federally compliant driver license or ID card with a.  For a complete list of the acceptable documents, please click here.
  • Legible photocopies of two proofs of South Dakota residential address.  Please note:  If you are using a South Dakota mail forwarding address, you will need to complete a residency affidavit.  You will also need to send legible photocopies of ONE DOCUMENT proving your temporary South Dakota address (a campground or RV park receipt no more than one year old hand written receipts are not acceptable) and one document no more than one year old proving your personal mailbox (PMB) service address (receipt from the PMB business or a piece of mail with your PMB address on it).
  • Military personnel and their dependents stationed overseas may use 2 address documents proving their APO address. Military personnel and their dependents stationed in another state may provide 2 address documents proving their out-of-state residential address.  All other applicants must provide 2 address documents proving their South Dakota residential address.
  • A self-addressed stamped envelope.

Send all of above to:
Driver Licensing Program
118 West Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501

INCOMPLETE OR ILLEGIBLE APPLICATIONS WILL BE RETURNED.

 

Back to Top


Upgrading Restricted Permit to Operators License by mail

Restricted Minor's Permits may be upgraded by mail or online if you meet the following criteria:  have a federally compliant drivers license, license was issued after December 30, 2009, are at least 16 years of age, and have no traffic convictions.

To upgrade a Restricted Minor's Permit, mail the following to:  Drivers Licensing Program, 118 West Capitol Avenue, Pierre SD 57501:

  • Completed driver license application form (your parent's signature must be notarized).
  • Copy of a federally compliant driver license or ID card.  If your driver license or ID has been lost, you must provide copies of two documents (one with your date of birth), such as a certified birth certificate and social security card.
  • If you are not a U.S. citizen, a copy of your Permanent Resident Card or foreign passport with U.S. Visa and valid I-94 are required.
  • Copies of TWO DOCUMENTS proving address.  The proof of address may be provided by the parent signing consent to have the permit upgraded.
  • $28 fee (check or money order).  If the applicant is 17 years old, the fee is prorated.  Call 605.773.6883 to have the prorated fee calculated for you.
  • The upgraded license will be mailed from the Pierre central office, along with a self-addressed, stamped envelope requesting the return of your old driver license.

Back to Top