Commercial Driver License Info
Effective September 10, 2013, the cost for a CDL drive test increased from $80 to $90.
Also, drive tests must now be scheduled at least 48 hours in advance.
CDL Medical Certification Requirement
Effective July 1, 2011, all commercial drivers who are subject to 49 CFR 391 (DOT medical certification) and are issued a commercial driver license after June 30, 2011, must send a copy of their new medical examiner's certificate to the South Dakota Driver Licensing Program before their current certificate expires.
Click on the FAQ's on Medical Certification for CDL Holders link above or call the South Dakota Driver Licensing Program at 1.800.952.3696 for more information.
Effective May 21st, 2014 - Any medical card issued after May 21st, 2014 will have to be administered by a medical professional who is registered with the National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners. To obtain a list of qualified medical providers in your area and answers to frequently asked questions, please visit the link below:
Physician Training for the CDL Medical Certification Requirement
Effective May 21, 2014, all medical examinations required by 49 CFR 391 (DOT medical certification) must be conducted by a medical examiner who is listed on the National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners. If you are a medical examiner and wish to attend medical examiner certification training in South Dakota, visit the South Dakota Academy of Family Physicians website at http://www.sdafp.org/ for further information.
CDL Drive Tests
Examiners at our exam stations do not administer drive tests for commercial driver licenses or endorsements. CDL drive tests are given by Third Party Testers. Click on the link below to locate a Third Party Tester in your area. Please note: a CDL drive test must be scheduled at least 48 hours in advance. The cost is $90 (plus tax).
Other websites of interest to commercial drivers:
(All links will open in a new browser. Close the browser to come back to this page.)