
Application for South Dakota Retail Fireworks License 
  

 * All information is to be typed or printed in ink 

 * Make checks payable to the Department of Public Safety 

 Mail both copies of the application to: 
State Fire Marshal's Office 

   Fireworks Program 
   118 West Capitol Avenue 
   Pierre SD 57501-2080 
 * Check appropriate box for licenses needed for each business location 
 
NOTICE:  Applications for Options 1 and 2 must be received 15 days before the beginning of the sales period  (SDCL 34-37-2)        FEE   

                           
1. Retail Fireworks License Sales period: June 27-July 5 General Retail Sale     $25.00  
 
2. Late Season Retail License**** 

 
Sales period:  Dec 28-Jan 1 

 

General Retail Sale 
  
    $25.00 

 

 
3. Special Retail Fireworks License 

 
Sales Period: May 1-July 5 

 

For sale to out-of-state 
  

  
  residents only $1,000.00  

     
4. Optional Retail Fireworks License*** Sales Period: July 6-Aug 31 For sale to out-of-state   
  

 
Sales Period: Dec 28-Jan1 

Residents only 

 

General Retail Sale 
 

 
$1,000.00 

 
 

    
    

Name of Licensee 

*(Responsible Party/Owner) 
 Address  City  State  Zip Code 

 

Mailing Address 

(if different than above) 

 

 

City State Zip Code 

SD Sales Tax Number  Home Phone  Work Phone 

    

Social Security Number or Federal ID Number  

 

Business Data 
Notice:  Fireworks outlet must be located at the location described below. If within city limits, name the 

outlet and address; if outside the city limits, describe by road, milepost, junction, highway or farm 
location. 

    
Location of Fireworks Stand  City (nearest)  County 

 
I certify that the above information is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and that the licensee named 
hereon will fully comply with the laws, rules and regulations governing the sale of Fireworks including, purchasing 
from a licensed Wholesaler. Further, I agree to remit all taxes and fees as set forth by law and rule by the South 
Dakota Department of Revenue and the Department of Public Safety. 
 

 
Date  Signature of Licensee 

     
 State of South Dakota Use Only  

 
FW License No.  Date  Issued By  

    
Sales Tax License No.  Checked By  

 
   ***Please Note:  The Optional Retail Fireworks License is now valid for two sale periods: July 6 – August 31 and 

December 28 – January 1.  The July 6 – August 31 sale period is for out-of-state residents only.  The December 28 – 
January 1 sale period is open to SD residents and out-of-state residents. 

  ****The Late Season Retail License is a new license and valid from December 28 to January 1 and allows fireworks to be 
sold to SD residents and out-of-state residents. 


