State of South Dakota Residency Affidavit

The purpose of the following affidavit is your request for an exception of the proof of residency requirement for a Driver License and or Identification card.

This form must be accompanied by a valid one-night stay receipt (no more than one year old) from a local RV Park, Campground or Hotel for proof of the temporary address where you are residing. In addition, you must submit a document (no more than one year old) proving your personal mailbox (PMB) service address (receipt from the PMB business or a piece of mail with your PMB address on it).

PLEASE NOTE: South Dakota Driver Licensing records are used as a supplemental list for jury duty selection. Obtaining a South Dakota driver license or non-driver ID card will result in you being required to report for jury duty in South Dakota.

By signing this affidavit, I agree the below statements are true and correct to the best of my knowledge:

- 1. I am a South Dakota resident, and I live in a RV/camper/hotel, or I travel full time for work.
- 2. South Dakota is my state of residence, and I will return after being absent.
- 3. I do not stay, live in, or maintain a residence in any another state.
- 4. My personal mailbox service (PMB) is a mail forwarding service, and not a virtual only mail service.

"I declare and affirm under the penalties of perjury (2 years imprisonment and \$4000 fine) that this claim (petition, application, information) has been examined by me and, to the best of my knowledge and belief is in all things true and correct. Any false statement or concealment of any material facts subjects any license or ID issued to immediate cancellation."

**This form must be signed in the presence of a notary public (virtual notary will not be accepted) or a South Dakota driver license examiner.

Name	Date	
Signature	DEFARLMENT	
	OF DUDIE CAPETY	(SEAL)

Notary/South Dakota Driver License Examiner Signature

Commission Expires:

<u>COMMERCIAL LICENSE APPLICANTS</u> - I declare that South Dakota is my state of domicile. I affirm that I am in compliance with Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations, 49CFR 383.5, which defines that the state of domicile is the State where a person has his/her true, fixed and permanent home and principal residence and to which he/she has intention of returning whenever he/she is absent. (initial)

*If applicant is under the age of 18, a parent's signature is required.

Parent's Signature

Parent's Name

DPS Employees- Use this form for an address exception for persons that travel full time and do not have a residence in another state. Revised: 8-2022