
 

 1 

STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA 
DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

OFFICE OF THE STATE FIRE MARSHAL 
Certification of Cigarette Manufacturer under 

South Dakota Fire Safe Cigarette Law 
  Please review instructions prior to completion. 

 
Part 1:  Type of Certification 

 

Type of Certification:                 □ Initial           □ Supplemental              □  3-year Recertification 
(Check one) 

 

Type of Manufacturer:         □  Participating Manufacturer          □ Non-Participating Manufacturer 
(Check one) 

 
Part 2:  Manufacturer Identification 
Company Name:                                                                                                                                
Mailing Address: 

City: State: Zip Code: Country: 
Phone: Fax: Web Address: 

Name and Title of Individual completing form: 
E-Mail Address: 

 
Part 3:  Brand Family Certification – Fire Safe Cigarettes (Attach addendum pages as necessary.) 
The undersigned manufacturer certifies, under penalty of perjury as of the date of this certification, it is a cigarette 
manufacturer, and is in full compliance with the South Dakota Fire Safe Cigarette Law.  The cigarettes included in this 
certification have been tested in accordance with ASTM standard E2187-04 and meet the performance standard 
specified in SDCL 34-49.  List the brand (i.e., the trade name on the package), style,  length in millimeters, 
circumference in millimeters, flavor (e.g., menthol, chocolate) if applicable, filter or non-filter, and package description 
(e.g., soft pack, box) for each cigarette sought to be certified as in compliance with the South Dakota Fire Safe 
Cigarette Law.  If necessary, use the addendum form to list additional brands and their styles. 

Brand 
(Trade name on  

package) 

Style 
 

Length and 
Circumference 

(in millimeters) 

Flavor 
(Menthol, 

Chocolate, 
Etc.) 

Filter/Non Package 
(Soft pack, box, etc.) 
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STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA 
DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

OFFICE OF THE STATE FIRE MARSHAL 
Certification of Cigarette Manufacturer under  

South Dakota Fire Safe Cigarette Law 
Please review instructions prior to completion. 

 
Part 4:  Test Method 
The cigarettes included in this certification have been tested using the following method (check one) and the test 
results are attached.  The manufacturer certifies it will retain the testing data for a minimum of 3 years and will 
provide the data to the State Fire Marshal upon request. 

□   ASTM E2187-04 

□  Alternate method approved by the South Dakota State Fire Marshal.  Attach a copy of the Fire Marshal   

     Authorization of the proposed testing method as required by SDCL 34-49-2. 
 
Part 5:  Marking Approval 

□ All cigarettes included in this certification have an approved marking of FSC on each pack, carton, and case or    

other approved marking, at or around the area of the UPC code as required by SDCL 34-49-9. 

□  Manufacturer proposed marking is attached and submitted with this certification.  (The proposed marking is  

     8-point type or larger.) 
 
Part 6:  Fee Calculation 
1.  The number of cigarette brand families listed on this certification…………………..__________________________ 

2.  Processing and enforcement fee of $1,500.00 for each brand family listed ……      $________________________ 
3.  Amount due State of South Dakota (Line 1 times Line 2)……………………………..$________________________ 

Amount remitted with this certification:                       $   _______________________ 
No brand families will be certified for sale in the state of South Dakota or be included in the South Dakota 
Fire Safe Cigarette Law List until the fee is paid in full. 

 
Part 7:  Certification information provided to Wholesale Dealers and Agents 
As of the date on this certification, the undersigned manufacturer hereby certifies under penalty of perjury that it has 
provided copies of the certification to all South Dakota licensed wholesale dealers and agents, as required by 
SDCL34-49-9 as well as those who may sell to a South Dakota licensed wholesale dealer or agent.    
Attach a list of wholesale dealers and agents including the name, address, telephone number, contact 
person, and the number of copies of certifications provided.  If the wholesale dealer or agent requests an 
electronic copy rather than paper copies, please note such. 

 
Part 8:  Designated Contact 
Name: Title:  
Mailing Address: 
City: State: Zip Code: Country: 
Phone: Fax: E-Mail: 

The State Fire Marshal will not process incomplete or illegible certifications. 
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STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA 
DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

OFFICE OF THE STATE FIRE MARSHAL 
Certification of Cigarette Manufacturer under 

South Dakota Fire Safe Cigarette Law 
Please review instructions prior to completion. 

 
Part 9:  Manufacturer Certification 
Under penalties of perjury, I state that, to the best of my knowledge, all of the information contained in this 
certification and any attached documents are true and accurate and that I am a person authorized to bind the 
manufacturer making this certification either under the laws of the state of South Dakota or of the jurisdiction where 
the manufacturer resides or is organized.  I understand the Fire Marshal may require additional information and/or 
documentation to determine whether the manufacturer qualifies for listing on the South Dakota State Directory of Fire 
Safe Cigarettes.  This document must be signed and dated by a duly appointed notary public. 
 
 
 
____________________________________________          ____________________________________________ 
Authorized Designee (Print Name)                                              Title 
 
 
 
 
 
_____________________________________________        ____________________________________________ 
Signature of Authorized Designee                                                Date 
 
 
 
Subscribed and sworn to                                                           ____________________________________________ 
before me this date: ______________________                         Signature of Notary Public 
 
 
(SEAL) 
                                                                                                  ____________________       ____________________ 
                                                                                                     County                                   Commission Expires 
 
 
MAIL TO 
 
Submit the completed certification and other required                    For additional forms and information, please 
documentation to the State Fire Marshal at:                                    contact: 
 
                 South Dakota State Fire Marshal                                          State Fire Marshal 
                 Department of Public Safety                                                 Phone:  (605) 773-3562 
                 118 West Capitol Avenue                                                     Fax: (605) 773-6631 
                 Pierre, SD  57501                                                                 fireinfo@state.sd.us 
 
 
 

The State Fire Marshal will not process incomplete or illegible certifications. 
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STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA 

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 
OFFICE OF THE STATE FIRE MARSHAL 
Addendum for Brand Family Certification 

 
 

Brand 
(Trade name on 

package) 

Style Length and  
Circumference 

(in millimeters) 

Flavor 
(Menthol, 

Chocolate, Etc.) 

Filter/Non Package 
(Soft pack, box, etc.) 

      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      

 


