STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA
DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
OFFICE OF THE STATE FIRE MARSHAL
CERTIFICATION OF CIGARETTE MANUFACTURER UNDER
SOUTH DAKOTA FIRE SAFE CIGARETTE LAW INSTRUCTIONS

General Information

Who must file this certification?

Any participating or non-participating manufacturer, who
intends for their brands to be listed as compliant with the
South Dakota Fire Safe Cigarette Law, shall file a
certification.

Beginning January 1, 2011, it is unlawful to stamp or offer for
sale in the state of South Dakota any cigarette that is not
compliant with the South Dakota Fire Safe Cigarette Law
unless the cigarettes were in inventory and stamped prior to

January 1, 2011.

When is this certification due?

The initial certification must be filed and approved by the
South Dakota State Fire Marshal on or before December 15,
2010. All three-year recertification applications must be filed
by January 1 of each recertification year thereafter. The
South Dakota State Fire Marshal will not process incomplete
or illegible certifications.

Where do | send my completed certification?

Mail the completed certification and related documents to:
South Dakota Department of Public Safety
State Fire Marshal
118 West Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501

Specific Instructions

Part 1: Type of Certification
Initial certification application is due on or before December
15,2010
. Subsequent recertification applications are due
30 days prior to expiration.
e  Supplemental certifications must be filed if
brand families are to be added or removed.

Part 2: Manufacturer Identification

Provide your company name, address, telephone, and fax
numbers, web address, and the name, title and email
address of person completing the form.

Part 3: Brand family certification

¢ Identify each brand family and style of cigarettes
the company intends to sell in South Dakota,
either directly or indirectly, through any distributor,
retailer, or similar intermediary, and seeks to have
included in the Fire Safe Directory.

¢ Brand family: Provide the brand name, the style,
length in millimeters, circumference in millimeters,
flavor (e.g. menthol, chocolate), filter/non-filter,
and package description (soft pack, box, etc.)

¢ A Brands Addendum page and a certification form
are available on the South Dakota State Fire
Marshal’s web page at:
www.dps.sd.gov/emergency_services/state_fire_
marshal/forms_applications.aspx.

Part 4: Test Method
e Check the box indicating which test method
applies to the brand being certified.
e If an alternative test method is being used, attach
a copy of the Fire Marshal’s authorization of the
alternative test method.
e  Attach most recent test results.

Part 5: Marking Approval
e A marking will be deemed approved if the
manufacturer indicates that all brands in the
certification have an approved marking in
accordance with SDCL 34-49-9 and provides a
sample of the marking with the certification.

Part 6: Fee Calculation
e Multiply the total number of brand families listed by
$1500.00. Remittance shall be payable to the
South Dakota Department of Public Safety.
e Remit payment with the certification.

Part 7: Certification Information Provided to Wholesale
Dealers and Agents

e Manufacturers are required to provide a copy of
the certification to all wholesale dealers and
agents to whom they sell cigarettes.

e Wholesale dealer means any person who sells
cigarettes or tobacco products to retail dealers or
other persons for purposes of resale, as well as a
person who owns, operates, or maintains one or
more cigarette or tobacco product vending
machines.

e Agent means any person authorized by the South
Dakota Department of Revenue and Regulation to
purchase and affix stamps on packages or
cigarettes.

Part 8: Designated Contact

Provide the name, title, address, telephone and fax
numbers, and email address of the individual the Fire
Marshal should contact with respect to matters relating
to this certification. The designated contact is the
individual who will receive mailing.

Part 9: Manufacturer Certification

The authorized designee executing the certification
must be an officer, principal, director, or other
authorized representative of the manufacturer. The
authorized designee’s name and title must be legibly
printed.



