
LAW INSTRUCTIONS 

 
General Information 

 
Who must file this certification? 
Any participating or non-participating manufacturer, who 
intends for their brands to be listed as compliant with the 
South Dakota Fire Safe Cigarette Law, shall file a 
certification. 

 
Beginning January 1, 2011, it is unlawful to stamp or offer for 
sale in the state of South Dakota any cigarette that is not 
compliant with the South Dakota Fire Safe Cigarette Law 
unless the cigarettes were in inventory and stamped prior to 

January 1, 2011. 
 
When is this certification due? 
The initial certification must be filed and approved by the 
South Dakota State Fire Marshal on or before December 15, 
2010.  All three-year recertification applications must be filed 
by January 1 of each recertification year thereafter.  The 
South Dakota State Fire Marshal will not process incomplete 
or illegible certifications. 
 
Where do I send my completed certification? 
Mail the completed certification and related documents to: 
 South Dakota Department of Public Safety 
 State Fire Marshal 
 118 West Capitol Avenue  
 Pierre, SD 57501 

 

Specific Instructions 
 
Part 1: Type of Certification 
Initial certification application is due on or before December 
15, 2010 

• Subsequent recertification applications are due 
30 days prior to expiration. 

• Supplemental certifications must be filed if 
brand families are to be added or removed. 

 
Part 2:  Manufacturer Identification 
Provide your company name, address, telephone, and fax 
numbers, web address, and the name, title and email 
address of person completing the form. 
 
Part 3: Brand family certification 
   

• Identify each brand family and style of cigarettes 
the company intends to sell in South Dakota, 
either directly or indirectly, through any distributor, 
retailer, or similar intermediary, and seeks to have 
included in the Fire Safe Directory.  

 
• Brand family: Provide the brand name, the style, 

length in millimeters, circumference in millimeters, 
flavor (e.g. menthol, chocolate), filter/non-filter, 
and package description (soft pack, box, etc.) 

 
• A Brands Addendum page and a certification form 

are available on the South Dakota State Fire 
Marshal’s web page at: 
www.dps.sd.gov/emergency_services/state_fire_
marshal/forms_applications.aspx. 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Part 4:  Test Method 

• Check the box indicating which test method 
applies to the brand being certified. 

• If an alternative test method is being used, attach 
a copy of the Fire Marshal’s authorization of the 
alternative test method. 

• Attach most recent test results. 
 
Part 5:   Marking Approval 

• A marking will be deemed approved if the 
manufacturer indicates that all brands in the 
certification have an approved marking in 
accordance with SDCL 34-49-9 and provides a 
sample of the marking with the certification.  

 
Part 6:  Fee Calculation 

• Multiply the total number of brand families listed by 
$1500.00.  Remittance shall be payable to the 
South Dakota Department of Public Safety. 

• Remit payment with the certification. 
 
Part 7:  Certification Information Provided to Wholesale 
Dealers and Agents 

• Manufacturers are required to provide a copy of 
the certification to all wholesale dealers and 
agents to whom they sell cigarettes. 

• Wholesale dealer means any person who sells 
cigarettes or tobacco products to retail dealers or 
other persons for purposes of resale, as well as a 
person who owns, operates, or maintains one or 
more cigarette or tobacco product vending 
machines. 

• Agent means any person authorized by the South 
Dakota Department of Revenue and Regulation to 
purchase and affix stamps on packages or 
cigarettes. 

 
Part 8:  Designated Contact 
Provide the name, title, address, telephone and fax 
numbers, and email address of the individual the Fire 
Marshal should contact with respect to matters relating 
to this certification.  The designated contact is the 
individual who will receive mailing. 
 
Part 9:  Manufacturer Certification 
The authorized designee executing the certification 
must be an officer, principal, director, or other 
authorized representative of the manufacturer.  The 
authorized designee’s name and title must be legibly 
printed. 
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