
Application for South Dakota Retail Fireworks License 
  

 * All information is to be typed or printed in ink 
 * Make checks payable to the Department of Public Safety or payment may be made by credit card 

• Mail both copies of the application to: 
State Fire Marshal's Office 

   Fireworks Program 
   221 South Central Avenue 
   Pierre SD 57501-2080 
 * Check appropriate box for licenses needed for each business location 
 
NOTICE All Applications must be received 15 days before the beginning of the sales period (SDCL 34-37-2)  Fee: 

     
1. Retail Fireworks License- **** 
 

Sales Period: June 27-July 5 General Retail Sale     $25.00  

2. Late Season Retail License***** Sales Period: Dec 28-Jan1 General Retail Sale     $25.00 
 

 
 

3. Special Retail Fireworks License- Sales Period: May 1-June 26 For sale to out-of-state   
  residents only $1,000.00  
     
4. Optional Retail Fireworks License***- Sales Period: July 6-Aug 31 For sale to out-of-state   
  

 
Sales Period: Dec 28-Jan1 

Residents only 
 
General Retail Sale 
 

 
$1,000.00 

 
 

    
   ***Please Note: The Optional Retail Fireworks License is now valid for two sale periods: July 6 –August 31 and December 28 – 

January 1  The July 6 – August 31 sale period is for out-of-state residents only.  The December 28 – January 1 sale period is 

open to SD residents and out-of-state residents. 

  ****The Retail Fireworks License is valid for the sales period of June 27-July 5  and allows the fireworks to be sold to SD 

residents and  

       out–of-state residents. 

*****The Late Season Retail License is a new license valid from December 28 to January 1 and allows fireworks to be sold to SD 

residents and out-of-state residents.. 

 

    

Name of Licensee 

*(Responsible Party/Owner) 

 Address  City  State  Zip Code 

 

 

Mailing Address 

(if different than above) 

 

 

City State Zip Code 

SD Sales Tax Number  Home Phone  Work Phone 

    

Social Security Number or Federal ID Number  

 

Business Data 

Notice:  Fireworks outlet must be located at the location described below. If within city limits, name the outlet and 
address; if outside the city limits, describe by road, milepost, junction, highway or farm location. 

 

    

Location of Fireworks Stand  City (nearest)  County 

 

I certify that the above information is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and that the licensee named hereon will 
fully comply with the laws, rules and regulations governing the sale of Fireworks including, purchasing from a licensed 
Wholesaler. Further, I agree to remit all taxes and fees as set forth by law and rule by the South Dakota Department of 
Revenue and the Department of Public Safety. 
 

 

Date  Signature of Licensee 

     

 State of South Dakota Use Only  

 

FW License No.  Date  Issued By  

    
Sales Tax License No.  Checked By  
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