
How can I get my permit or license back? 
 
If you have a traffic violation conviction, or conviction 
for violating the conditions of your permit, when the 
suspension period is over you may apply at your local 
driver exam station for a duplicate license. If the 
offense is a felony or Class 1 misdemeanor a $50 
reinstatement fee is required to reapply. 
 
 
FAQ’s 
 
Can I use my hospital birth certificate? 
No, you must bring a certified birth certificate issued 
by the state or county where you were born or 
alternate document. See https://dps.sd.gov for more 
information. 
 
Can my parent/guardian cancel my 
permit or license? Yes, the parent/guardian who 
signed for you to get a permit or license may request 
to have it cancelled if you are under 18 years of age. 
 
What is the difference between a moped 
and a motorcycle? A moped has an engine no 
larger than 50 cc’s and doesn’t require clutching or 
shifting. A moped may be driven if you have a 
Restricted Permit or full driver’s license.  
 
A motorcycle has an engine of 51 cc’s or more and 
requires a motorcycle permit or license to drive it. If 
driving on a motorcycle Instruction Permit you must 
be accompanied by a licensed motorcycle operator on 
a separate motorcycle who is at least 18 years of age 
and has one year of driving experience. 
 
No motorcycle Instruction Permit holder may carry a 
passenger. 
 
Does South Dakota have a helmet law? 
Yes, all motorcycle and moped operators and 
passengers younger than 18, are required to wear 
helmets. 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Distracted Driving 
 

➢ 58% of teens involved in traffic crashes 
are distracted. The most popular 
distractions include texting and driving, 
passengers and any phone activity. 

➢ We're all at risk for distracted driving 
crashes. Consider these tips for safe 
driving: 

o If you must send or receive a 
text, pull over to a safe location 
and park your car first. 

o If you have passengers, appoint 
a “designated texter” to handle 
all your texting. 

o If you can’t resist the temptation 
to look at it, keep your phone in 
the trunk. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

SOUTH DAKOTA 
TEEN DRIVER 

GRADUATED LICENSING 
CLASS 2 

MOTORCYCLE  
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 

South Dakota  
Driver Licensing Program 

118 W Capitol Ave 
Pierre SD 57501 

Website: https://dps.sd.gov 
 

Phone: 605-773-6883 
 
 

 



INSTRUCTION PERMIT 

How do I get a Motorcycle Instruction 
Permit? 

➢ Between 14 and 18 years of age. 
➢ Not have had any traffic convictions within 

the last six months. 
➢ Your parent or guardian must sign giving 

consent, either in person at a driver exam 
station or by completing a Parental Consent 
Form (notarized). 

➢ Make an appointment at https://dps.sd.gov 
or by calling 605-773-6883. 

➢ Pass the knowledge and vision tests. The 
knowledge test will be waived if you present 
a Motorcycle Safety Foundation Course card. 
The course card will waive testing for a 
period of one year. 

➢ Provide two pieces of mail proving your 
residential address. The mail can be in your 
name or your parent’s name. 

➢ Visit a driver exam station. All exam stations 
are by appointment only. You may make an 
appointment by visiting: https://dps.sd.gov. 

➢ Pay a fee of $28.00. 

What can I do with this permit? 

➢ Drive under adult supervision. The adult 
must be a parent/guardian or other adult 
with a valid driver’s license and at least one 
year of driving experience. The adult driving 
another motorcycle along with you. 

➢ A motorcycle instruction permit entitles the 
holder to drive from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m.  

What can’t I do with this permit? 

➢ Drive without a licensed adult seated beside 
you in the vehicle. 

➢ Use any type of wireless communication 
device while driving. 

➢ Carry any passengers 
 
 
 
 

RESTRICTED MINOR’S PERMIT 

How do I move to a Restricted Minor’s 
permit? 

➢ Be between 14 to 18 years old. 
➢ Not have had any traffic convictions within 

the last six months. 
➢ Your parent or guardian must sign giving 

consent, either in person at a driver exam 
station or by completing a Parental Consent 
Form (notarized).  

➢ Make an appointment at https://dps.sd.gov 
or by calling 605-773-6883 for a drive test  

➢ Bring your Instruction Permit, driver’s ed 
certificate (if applicable) and two pieces of 
mail proving your residential address. The 
mail can be in your name or your parent’s 
name. 

➢ Pay a fee of $28.00. 

Note: A motorcycle Restricted Permit allows 
the holder to drive a motorcycle alone from 6 
a.m. to 8 p.m., with parent/guardian 
permission. 

 

Passenger Limit While Driving 
Without Adult Supervision on 
Restricted Permit 

➢ First 6 months on the Restricted Permit, no 
passengers allowed except for immediate 
family or members of household. 

➢ Second 6 months and beyond may have one 
passenger under 18 who is not immediate 
family or part of the immediate household. 

 

UNRESTRICTED LICENSE 

How do I move to a full, unrestricted 
driver’s license? 

➢ Be at least 16 years old. 
➢ Meet all the conditions of an Instruction 

Permit. 

➢ Drive on a Restricted Minor’s permit for a 
minimum of 6 months. 

➢ Not have any traffic convictions within the 
last six months. 

➢ Your parent or guardian must sign giving 
consent, either in person at a driver exam 
station or by completing a Parental Consent 
Form (notarized). 

➢ Bring your Restricted Minor’s Permit 
and two pieces of mail proving your 
residential address to the exam station. The 
mail can be in your name or your parent’s 
name. 

➢ Pay a fee of $28.00. 

 

PENALTIES 

What if I get a ticket? 
 

▪ Your Instruction Permit, Restricted Minor’s 
Permit, or Operator’s License will be 
suspended for 30 days if you are under 16 
years old and are convicted of a traffic 
violation or of violating the restrictions of 
your permit (such as for driving alone on an 
instruction permit or driving outside the 
hours allowed) while driving on a permit. 

 
▪ If you are convicted of a second violation 

your permit or license will be suspended for 
180 days or until your 16th birthday, 
whichever is longer. 

 
▪ If you are convicted of a felony or Class 1 

misdemeanor while driving on a permit your 
permit or license will be suspended for 180 
days or until your 16th birthday, whichever is 
longer. 
 

▪ Anyone under the age of 18 that receives a 
violation and DOES NOT have a Driver 
License and/or the privilege to drive will 
receive a like suspension as listed above. 

 
 
 
 


