RESIDENCY AFFIDAVIT
FOR SOUTH DAKOTA RESIDENTS WHO TRAVEL
AND DO NOT HAVE A RESIDENCE IN ANOTHER STATE

The purpose of the following questions is to determine if you meet the
gualifications for an exception of the proof of residency requirements for obtaining
a South Dakota Driver License or non-driver ID card.
This form must be signed by a notary of the public or a South Dakota driver license examiner.

1. Is South Dakota your state of residence? Yes No
2. Is South Dakota the state you intend to return to after being absent? Yes No
3. Do you maintain a principal residence in another state? Yes No

This form must be accompanied by a valid one-night stay receipt (no more than one year old) from
alocal RV Park, Campground, or Motel for proof of the temporary address where you are residing.
In addition, you must submit a document (no more than one year old) proving your personal

mailbox (PMB) service address (receipt from the PMB business or a piece of mail with your PMB
address on it).

COMMERICAL LICENSE APPLICANTS- | declare that South Dakota is my state of domicile. | affirm

that | am in compliance with Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations, 49CFR 383.5, which defines

that the state of domicile is the State where a person has his/her true, fixed and permanent home

and principal residence and to which he/she has intention of returning whenever he/she is absent.
(initial)

PLEASE NOTE: South Dakota Driver Licensing records are used as a supplemental list for jury duty
selection. Obtaining a South Dakota driver license or non-driver ID card will result in you being
required to report for jury duty in South Dakota if selected.

| declare and affirm under the penalties of perjury (2 years imprisonment and $4000 fine) that this
claim (petition, application, information) has been examined by me and, to the best of my knowledge
and belief is in all things true and correct. Any false statement or concealment of any material facts
subjects any license or ID issued to immediate cancellation.

Name Date

Signature

(SEAL)

Notary/South Dakota Driver License Examiner Signature

Commission Expires:
If applicant is under the age of 18 a parent’s signature is required.

PARENT’S NAME DATE

PARENT’S SIGNATURE
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