GREAT FACES, GREATPLACES.




Afttention:

South Dakotz law requires all motorists to stop when coming from any direction and approaching
any stopped authorized emergency vehicle making use of red visual signals. The law requires
you to move over and slow down when passing any vehicie displaying amber or yellow flashing
Iights.

When motorists traveling on South Dakota interstates or other highways with two or more lanes
traveling in the same direction as an suthorized emergency vehicle approach an emergency
vehicle with amber lights on, they must merge into the lane farthest from the vehicle and proceed
with caution, unless otherwise directed.

On two lane highways, molorists must siow to a speed that is at least twenty miles per hour less
than the posted speed limit or five miles per hour when the speed limit is posted at twenty miles
per hour or less and proceed with caution, unless otherwise directed,

Emergency vehicles include, but are not limited to, law enforcement vehicles. ambulances and
fire department vehicles.

A violation of this law is & class 2 misdemeanor which is punishable by a fine of $200 and/or
60 days in jail

South Dakota Codified Law 32-31-6.1
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This manual gives you information on safe driving rulesmadtices to help you become a safe driver. Be sure to read the manual
carefully. Unless you know the information contained in this manual, you cannot pass the knowledge test.

If you want a license to drive a commercial motor vehicle, wdlneed toread the Commercial Driver License (CDL) Manual. If you
want a license to drive a motorcycle, yaill need to read the Motorcycle Manual.

The Driver License

Anyone who operates a motor vehicle or motniven cycle on public roadwayrs South Dakota isequired to have a driver license.

If you have a valid out of state nasommercial license,ou are required taapply for a South Dakota driver license within 90 days of
establishing residency in South Dakotédyou are a commercial driver licertsaglder, you must apply for a South Dakota license
within 30 days of establishing residency in South Dak8tuth Dakota law states that every licensee shall have their driver license
in their immediate possession at all times when operating a motor l&hic

The following people can drive on a valid operator license from their home state, so long as they are at least 16 years old.

Military- Members of the Armed Forces on active duty or members of foreign military on temporary duty with the Armed
Forcesas well as their spouse and children.

Student Students who are here to further their education and who are considered ar@sident for tuition purposes.
You may obtain a driver license if you:

Are at least 14 years of age

Provide the required documentsee page 2)

Have parental/guardian consent if under ageféBevery application completed

Pas needed driver license test(s)

Turn in all existing driver licee(s) or identification card(s)

Do not currently have suspended, revoked, or denied drivingleges inrSouth Dakota or any other state
Are not in this country illegally

Have not been found by a court to be mentally incompetent, alcoholic habitual user of illegal drugs
Have no unpaid firefor moving traffic violations

Are from a foreign caniry and can show U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services documents with datd of lega
presence in the United States
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DOCUMENT REQUIREMENTS (photo copies are not acceptable)
Every time you apply for a driver license/identification card an application atmtuments are required.

Renewal of a driver license or ID card (must have a star in upper right corner):
1. South Dakota driver license or ID card (with star in upper right corner)
2. Two documents proving your residential address (must be less than onelggar o
3. NonUS citizens and transfers from other states must provide proof of lawful status in the U.S. (such as U.S. certified birth
certificate, U.S. passport/passport card, certificate of citizenship/naturalization, permanent resident card, employment
authorization card, or foreign passport with vis&/4)

4. If your name has changed you will need to provide proof of the name change (marriage certificate, divorce decree, or court

order)
For information about online renewal (available every other renewal period) wate.dps.sd.gov

Replacement of a South Dakota driver license or ID card (had a star in upper right corner):
1. U.S. certified birth certificate, valid U.S. passport/passpard ceertificate of citizenship/naturalization, valid permanent
resident card, valid employment authorization documestforeign passport with U.S. visegé
2. Second document proving identity (such as social security cai2ifakm, military 1D, tribal 1Dgr other document
approved by examiner)
3. Two documents proving your residential address (must be less than one year old)

4. If your name has changed you will need to provide proof of the name change (marriage certificate, divorce decree, or court

order)
To reguest a duplicate online (once per renewal period) govov.dps.sd.gov



http://www.dps.sd.gov/

New South Dakota driver license or ID card (includes transfer from another state*)
One document proving your date of birth, identity and lawful status or presence. If possible, select a document that hasyaant
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full legal name to avoid documenting any hame change.
Valid, unexped U.S. passport or U.S. passport card
Certified copy of a birth certificate issued by a state of the
United States. It must be a cdi#id copy and have the
stamp or raised seal of the issuing authority. A hospital
issued certificate is not acceptable

Applicants from U.S. Territories are required to supply a
U.S. Passport or U.S. Passport Card

Consular Report of Birth Abroad issued by the U.S.
Department of State (Form F230, DSL350 or F$45)
Certificate of Naturalization (Form-550, N570 or N578)
Certificate of Citizenship (Form360, N561 or N645)
Unexpired Permanent Resident Card (Foi5b1)
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Unexpired Employment Authorization Document (Form |

766)

Record of Arrival and Departure9d) with attached photo
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Record of Arrival and Departurein 0 &G F YLISR dw
Gt NPf SS¢ 2NJ a! a8t SS¢
Unexpired foreign passport accompanied by the approved
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the United States

Valid foreigrLJ- @ & LI2 NI &G YLIDR méEt NB OS
Permit to Reenter the United States327)

Refugee Travel Documentg71)

Check your names your current full legal name different from the name listed on the identity document you are prgwidstep 1?
Were you previously issued a South Dakota driver license or ID card with a name different from that listed on the ideuntigngddn
step 1?If you answered yes to one or both of the questions above, you must document your name changet, o to step 3.

To document your name change, bring documents that connect the name on the identity document you selected to your cLiegat ful
name. Select the documents you will use (this can be more than one if needed to connect the naimenligteir identity document to

your current name).
1 Cetified marriage certificate
1  Court order under petition for name change

1  Court order for name change in a divorce decree or decree of annulment

1  Court order for name change in a decree of adoption

Any mariage certificate must be issued by the state office of vital statistics or equivalent agency in your state or countmyagfemiar
must be a certified copy and have the stamp or raised seal of the issuing authority. A church, chapel or similadgrisScete is not

acceptable.

Any court order must contain your prior full legal name, your caudered full legal name and your date of birth; and be stamped with
the official court seal (date stamps and file stamps are not the official court seal).

Document your Social Security number (SSN). Select one document you will use that contains your current name and SSN.

Social Security card

W-2 form

Social Security Administration 1099 form

NonSocial Security Administration 1099 form

Pay stub or statement with your name and full Social
Security number on it

|l

| am a temporary foreign national not authorized for
employment. (You do not have to document a SSN, but
South Dakota will verify your USCIS number. Make sure
you are notauthorized for employment. If you are eligible
for employment but do not have a SSN, you are required
to obtain and present one.

Two documents proving your residential address (less than one year 6ld). LI} NB y if &ddreskibla @ fabla for a minor child

6GKS
Utility bill
Pay stub or earnings statement

Rent receipt

Phone bill

Transcript or report card from accredited school
Bank statemet
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Mortgage document

Tax document
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Other items with your address can be reviewed by the
examiner
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Mail with post office box addresses are acceptable in areas not assigned a streetaoid®dd



People Who Travel Full Time

If you are using a South Dakota mail forwarding address, you will need to compldesidencyffidavit. You will also

need to provide a receipt from a South Dakota hotel/motel, campground or RV park to prove one night of stay within the
last year and ONE DOCUMENT no more than ONE year old proving your personal mailbox (PMB) service address (receip
from the PMB business or a piece of mail with your PMB address on it). If you have friends or family in South Dakota and
plan to use their address, you can complete and follow the instructions og¢imsent for Use of Addregsrm. You can

find these forms at the following linkattp://dps.sd.qgov/licensing/driver_licensing/applications_forms.aspx

Veterans

+SGSNrya ¢oK2 KI @S 0SSy K2y2Nlofeé RAAOKIFNHSR FNBY (GKS YAfAQd
of their South Dakota driver license or identification card. In additiom&odocuments listed above, they will need to

present one of the following:

DD214 form which shows their honorable discharge status from active duty

t NBaSyid | OSNIAFTAOFIGS &A3aySR oé& | O2dzyie 2NJONROlFE @S
DDForm 2 (Retired)

DD Form 2A (Reserve Retired)
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Note to current or new CDL applicants: If you are required to carry a medical examiners certificate (aka DOT medical
card) you must show a valid card at the driver exam station.

If you are unable to obtain ay of the required documents please contact our office to see if exceptions are available

Selective Service Requirements

Registering with the Selective Service is required for young men to stay eligiblelesaFstudent Aid, Job Trainiagd
Government Jobs. Any male applicant aged 18 to 25 must submit on his driver license application that he has registered
with the Selective Service, or that he is authorizing the Department of Public Safety to forward to the Selective Service the
persaal information necessary to register. For more information regarding Selective Service Registration, contact Selective
Service at 8886551825

Fees(subject to change)

Cash, checknoney order, credit, checking or debit cards are accepted

Regular Driver License or Instruction Permit (new, renewal or transfer frorofestate) $2800
Identification Card (new, renewal tnansfer from outof-state) $2800
Amended/Replacement Driver Licgnor Identification Card $15.00
Motorcyclelnstruction Permit (if you alreadyave a valid driver license) $2800
Motorcycle Instruction Permit (new license are within renewal period) $28.00
Conversion ofialid Motorcycle or CDInstruction Permit $28.00/$33.00
Commercial Biver license renewallnstruction Permit or transfer from outof-state $33.00
Commercial Driveritense endorsement test(s) $15.00

The fee for &@ommercialDriver License does not include the skill (drive) test. The skill test must be conducted by a
third-party tester aml the tester may charge up to $®lus taxfor testing.

For testing purposes, the fee allows you three attempts to pass a test withimangh period. After 3 attempts, or-6
months, the fee must be paid again.

Aproration of fees is giveto applicants under 21 years of age who are being issued less thgear ficense.


http://dps.sd.gov/licensing/driver_licensing/documents/RESIDENCYAFFIDAVIT_001.pdf
http://dps.sd.gov/licensing/driver_licensing/documents/CONSENTFORUSEOFSOUTHDAKOTAADDRESS7-20-10_001.pdf
http://dps.sd.gov/licensing/driver_licensing/applications_forms.aspx
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1 Persons under 14 years of age.

1 Persons who have a license or driving privilege withdrawn in South Dakota or any other State.

1 Persons who have accumulated child support arrearages of $1,000 or more. (These people will be issued one
6 month temporary.)

1 Persons present illegally in the U.S.

1 Persons who have been determined medically or psychologically unfit to drive.

Types of Drer Licenses

Instruction Permit- To obtain an Instruction Permit, you must be at least 14 years of age and pass the vision and

knowledge test. The permit is valid five yearsor on the same date as the expiration date on the valid documents

Fdz K2NAT Ay3 GKS LI AOFYy(iQa LINBaSyOS Avys8o0kuSjecttyy AGSR {GFGSax
change) Minors at least 14 years of age, but less than 18 years ofrag#,hold the valid permit continuously for 180

days(90 days if successful completion [score of 80% or better on both written and driving portions of driver education]

of an approved Department of Education driver education course) prithidapgrade ofthe permit to a Restricted

aAy2NRa t SNXYAG 2NJ hLISNI §2NnR&a [ AOSyasSo

RestrictionsDuring the hours of 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. a licensed driver 18 years of age or older with at least one years
driving experience must be present in the saakt to the person holithg the hstruction Permit. Between the hours of
10 p.m. and 6 a.m. the permit holder must be accompanied by a parent/legal guardian.

Instruction Permit holders may not use any type of wireless communication device while operatitag gehicle upon

public roadway @ I WgANBfSaa 02YYdzyAOlFIGA2y RSOAOSQ A& RSTAYSR I a
provides for voice or data communication between two or more parties, including a mobile or cellular telephone, text

messaging device, @ersonal digital assiant that sendsfeceives messages, an audideo player that send®ceives

message®r a laptop computer.

WwWSEAGNRAOGISR aRy 2NINE AtySNY WS EGNAOGSR aAy2NR& t SNXYAGSE @2dz Ydza
requirements of the Instruction Permit, pass the driving test and not have been convicted of a traffic violation during

thesA E Y2y (K& LINA2NI G2 2601 AyAy3 (GKS wSAGNAROGSR aAy2NDa t SNY
wSAGNROGSR areyenitisiyalid & Blgearsiobuntil the same date as the expiration date on the valid

documents authorizingl KS | LILJX A OF yiQa LINBaSyOS Ay G(KS ! yAGSR {GFrdSaz ¢

RestrictionsEntitles the holder, while having the permit in isr immediate physical possession, to operate a motor
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vehicleupon public roadways I WgANBf Saa O2YYdzy AWreldss degtroric @@ninn@#dionk & RS
device that provides for voice or data communication between two or more parties, including a mobile or cellular
telephone, text messaging devieepersonal digital assistant that serdsceives messages, an audideo player that
sendgreceives messages or a laptop computer.
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knowledge ad driving test. If a minor is at least 16 years of age, but under 18 years of age, they must complete the
requirements of the Instruction Permit and not have been convicted of a traffic violation during the past six months

LINKR2NJ G2 200! &lcknged The KcénsehishidlitNibr b geddRor until the same date as the expiration date
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$28.00.




NOTE: Per South Dakota law, everynlgge shall have Hiser driver license in hiker immediate possession at all
times when operating a motor vehicle and shall display the same upon demand of a judge or court of record, a
magistrate, a peace officer, or a field deputy or inspector of the Department of Public Safety.

Motorcycle InstructionPermit- To obtain a Motorcycle Instruction Permit, you must be at least s/ef age and

pass the vision ankinowledge (car/truck and motorcycle) testMinors at least 14 years of age, but less than 18 years

of age, must hold the valid permit contiously for 180 days (9ays if applicant completesdriver education course

LINA2NJ G2 dzLJANI RS 2F GKS LISNXYAG G2 | a2i2N0e0tS wSadNaROGSR
However, if in addition to the approved driver education course, plerson has successfully completed the South

5F120GF 62NJ I y2GKSNJ adl 6§SQ&0 | dzi K2 NAT SRPehdn®y hNedis0beS al FSide O
held for 30 continuous days. The permit is valid for one year or until the same date agpttaien date on the valid
R20dzySyda IdziK2NAT Ay3 GKS | LILI A Olr otéu first. LINGcEsSiy 3PS Iflasy
than 18 years of age and the Motorcycle Instruction Permit expires, the minor would be required to ahttmer
Instruction Permit for the required time.
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RestrictionsThe Motorcycldnstruction Permit holder may operate a motorcycle during the hours of 6 a.m. to 8 p.m. if
accompanied by a licensed motorcycle operator who is at least eighteen years oftagbas a least one year of

driving experience and who is driving another motorcycle along with the permit holder. No motorcycle Instruction
Permit holder may carry another person on the motorcycle.

a2i2NO8OES wSAaGNHQRIZRlaAW2 MDA 2(GENORDE S WwWSAGNAOGSR aAy2NRa
years of age and pass the vision, knowledge (car/truck and motorcycle) tests, and motorcycle drive test, complete the
requirements of the Instruction Permit and have not been caedof a traffic violation during the past six months
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first.

RestrictionsEntitles the holder, while having the permit in fisr immediate possession, to operate a motorcycle
during the hours of 6 a.m. to 8 p.m. if the motorcycle is being operated with the permissipKd YAy 2 NR& LI NBy G
legal guardian.

azi2NOe Ot S h LIToldbiaig aWDbEorcyclé licnged yu must be at least 16 years of age and pass the

vision, knowledge (car/truck and motorcycle) tests, and motorcycle driving test. If a minor is at least 16 years of age,

but under 18 years of age, they must complete teguirements of the Instruction Permit and have not been convicted
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valid for 5 years or until the same date as the expiration date oritheft A R R2 OdzYSy da | dziK2NAT Ay 3 (K
presence in the United States, whichever occurs first.

Duplicate LicenseWhen a duplicate license is obtained, your license will retain the original license expiration date. To
obtain a duplicate license yauust provide 2 proofs of identification as well as 2 proofs of residential address. Our
examiners may question any documents and request additional information for verification of identity.

Moped Operators, 2dz Ydzali 0SS Ay Ll aalS@mende2y 2F I @FfAR hLISNI(2NRA

Identification Card- To obtain an Identification Card, you must provide the required documents lggtéte beginning

of this manual There is no age requirement. The card is valid for 5 years or until the same date as the expiration date

onthe valid documents authorizing K S | LJILX A OF yG1 Q& LINBaSyO0S Ay GKS ! yAGSR {4 G
a United States citizen, you will be required to present a U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services record authorizing

your legal presence in the United States. Oxarainers have the right to question any documents and request

additional information for verification of identity prior to issuance of the identification card.

Note to all applicants:
Any driver license or nedriver identification card issued to any indiual under 21 years of age with five years or less
NBYFAYAY3 dzyd A% to ANGK R ELIGM B I y (BELIANG Shirthday. 8 & | FESNI 6 KS AYyRAC




Class [A] Licens€ombination VehiclesAny combination of vehicles with a gross combination Weigting (GCWR)

of 26,001 @ more pounds falls in Group A, providing the GVWR of the vehicle(s) being towed is in excess of 10,000
GVWR Most Class A vehicles are trucks such as trader or truck and trailer combinations. Driving a Class A

vehick requires considerably more skill and knowledge than driving vehicles in Classes B and C. Since these skills
include those required to drive a B and C (with appropriate endorsements) vehicle, a driver who has a Class A license
may also drive vehicles Plasses B and C.

Class [B] Licensdeavy Straight VehiclesAny single vehicle with a GVWR of 26,001 or more pounds falls in Group B,

or any such vehicle towing another vehicle not in excess of 10,000 pounds GVWR. Class B includes straight trucks and
large buses. Safely driving these heavy vehicles requiresdeoaisiy more knowledge and skill than drivitg small

trucks and buses found in Class C. Since they include the skills required to drive Class C (with appropriate
endorsements) vehicles, drivers who have qualified for a Class B license may alsohicies e Class C.

Class [C] Licensgmall Vehicles Any single vehicle with a GVWR less than 26,001 pounds falls in Group C, or any such
vehicle towing another vehicle not in excess of 10,000 pounds G\W&Wever, vehicles of this size are includedha t
Commercial Driver License (CDL) program only if they are: 1) Designed to carry 16 or more passengers including the
driver, or 2) Used to transport hazardous materials in quantities requiring placarding under the Hazardous Materials
Regulations (49 CFRrP172, Subpart F).

There are a great variety of vehicles in Class C. Some other large Class C vehicles may require more skill and knowledge
to operate than do the smaller ones. However, the licensing category is based principally on the type cduicaedo c

Because of the seriousness of an accident involwvamardous material or human passengers, the safe operation of

even the smaller vehicles in Class C requires special knowledge and the drivers of the vehicles must have a CDL.

All commercial drivies who drive certain types of vehicles or haul certain types of cargo must add endorsements to
their CDL licenses to show that they have the specialized knowledge required, depending on the vehicle or type of
cargo.

Double and Triple Trailers [Ty any divers who are qualified to drive Class A vehicles may wish to pull double or triple
trailers. Research shows that considerable additional knowledge and skill is necessary to safely pull double and triple
trailers in various traffic conditions and driviegvironments. Consequently, adding the endorsement to the licenses

of Class A drivers is necessary if they wish to pull double or triple trailers. A special knowledge examination on the
problems associated with pulling multiple trailers must be passed.

Tank Vehicle [N] Drivers of vehicles that are used to haul liquids or gaseous materials in permanent tanks or in
portable tanks having a rating capacity of 1,000 gallons or more must have specialized knowledge and skills to drive
safely. Liquids in bulkause driving control problems because the cargo is heavy, may shift, and has a high center of
gravity. These drivers must add an endorsement to their license showing they have passed a special knowledge
examination on the problems posed by large voluimaid carga.

Passengers [RJAny driver who wishes to drive a vehicle having a design capacity to carry 16 or more passengers,
including the driver, must add a passenger endorsement to their CDL. They must pass a special knowledge examination
on safetyconsiderations when transporting passengers and must feesskills test in a passenger vehicle. The

endorsement applies to applicants who wish to drive a bus in any class (B or C).

School Bus[S]Any driver who wishes to drive a school bus with ititent to carry students to and from school or in
connection with school activities must have a passenger school bus endorsement. They must pass a special knowledge
examination and skill test.

Hazardous Materials [HAny driver, regardless of the cladstleeir vehicle (A, B or C), who wishes to haul hazardous
materials or waste in amounts requiring placards must add a hazardous materials endorsement to their CDL. They
must pass a special written examination on how to recognize, handle and transpartibaz materials. Applicants
must also pasa security threat assessmeridgckground check) by the U.S. Transportation Security Administration.

vi



Combination Hazardous Materials and Tank Vehicle Pfjvers who haul hazardous materials or hazardous wiaste
tank vehicle must add an X endorsement to their CDL, showing that they have passed the special knowledge
examinations for both tank vehicles and hazardous materials.

Air Brakes RestrictionMost drivers of heavy commercial vehicles drive trucksusels equipped with air brakes.

Therefore, part of the examination process covers the operation and critical aspects of air brake systems. Many Class A

and B vehicles have air brakes. Some Class C vehicles also have air brakes. If a driver cammAinBiskes

knowledge test, or if the driver does not successfully complete the CDL skills test in a vehicle equipped with air brakes,

I NBAGNAOGAZ2Y Ydzad o6S LI FOSR 2y (GKS FLIWIX AOlIylGQa /5[ aKz2giy
brakes.

Examinations

Cooperation with Examiner
1 The applicant must cooperate fully with the examiner and follow instructions.
1 License applicants must furnish their own vehicle (safe) for thetbr-road test.
1 Pets or passengers will not be allowed in the vele during the orthe-road test.
1 Itis recommended that children or pets not be brought to the exam station. Children and pets are not
permitted in the testing area or on drive test

Examination Procedures

You may apply for a South Dakota operdioense at any exam station within the state. Licenses may be renewed 180
days prior to their expiration date unless the applicant is turning 21 years of age upon renewal. Licenses expiring 30
RI&a& | ¥4 S Nibitthila) 813y driyderénewesh withithe 30 days immediately following the birth date.

For other Driver License information regarding locations, procedures, testing times & locations, handicap assistance,
and other issues call@05-773-6883 or you may visit the South Dakota web sitenatw.dps.sd.gov

When applying for your South Dakota Driver License all South Dakota-of-state driver license(s) and/or
identification card(s) must be surrendered at the time of application. If you are curtteoitiyng a valid oubf-state
driver license, no testing will be required for the transfer of that licemseept if you have a hazardous materials
endorsement Previous statewill be notified and your credentigd)from that state will beomeinvalid.

Note: According to State layexaminers are prohibited from issuing a driver license to anyone who is physically
incapable to drive. If an applicant appears to be physically impaired the examiner may require them to test.

1. Photo:
Your photograph will béaken prior to completing any testing.

2. Vision Test:
If you wear glasses or contact lenses while taking the vision test, you will be required to wear them whenever
driving. If you do not pass the vision test, you must present a statement from an Optshwet@phthalmologist
certifying that you possess the visual ability to drive safely before continuing the examination process.

3. Knowledge Test:
You will be required to pass a test covering the rules of the road and safe driving practices. Those avishing t
obtain a motorcycler commercialdriverslicense should also obtain thosperator manuals from any South
51120 5NRAGSNI [ AO0OSyairyd hFFAOS 6GKS YI ywavdpsisdpgouBS | f a2 | Jt

4. Driving Test:

This testwill provide you opportunity to demonstrate your ability to safely operate a motor vehicle. The driving
test consists of normal driving tasks. You will not be asked to do anything against the law.
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As of the date this manual was printed, drive testé\berdeen, Brookings, Elk Point, Huron, Madison, Milbank,
Mitchell, North Sioux City, Parker, Rapid City, Sioux SafgtonVermillion, Watertown, Webster, and Yankton
must be scheduled. You maghedule a drive test online at www.dps.sd.gov or by phonk@®5-773-6883

Unsuccessful Examinations
If you fail any of the test you may not reest before the next working day. You may wait longer if you want more

time to study the manual or to price driving. You are allowedopportunities to test for eacfee paid within a 6
month period. After 3 failures in arfionth period, the fee will need to be repaid.

Restrictions Placed On Licerse
An operator license may be issued subject to certasirictions. For example, a person who cannot see clearly with
their right eye will be restricted to driving a vehicle with a left outside rearview mirror.

SD License Restrictions

Prior to
July 1,
2015 Now Commercial Learner's PermiRestrictions

P No passengers in a CMV

X

No cargo in a tank CMV
Commercial Driver License Restrictions
No air brakes
No Class A passenger vehicle
No Class A or B passenger vehicle
Seasonal CDL
Medical \ariance
Automatic ransmission (new for CMV)
Intrastate only
No tractortrailer CMV
No full air wake (air over hydraulic brakes)
Driver License Restrictions
Corrective énses
Restricted prmit (6AM10PM
No night driving
Left outside rearview mirror

<|S|R|«|W

NO|lxImI<|ZSE|lz|=2]|F

No driving outside of town

Automatic ransmissior{(Non-Commercial)

50 mile radius of residence

NIXImOT|o|xo| O
Ol<[ZP|—|TMO |0 |w

Special equipped vehicle
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LicenseOptions
If you choose yes for any of these options listed below, it will be identified on the license.

LivingWill;, 2dz KI @S GKS 2LJiA2y 2F OKSO{Ay3 (KS {2dziK 5F12G4GF 5NAOD
governing the withblding or withdrawal of lifesustaining treatment.

Durable Power of AttorneyYou mayindicateonii KS { 2dzi K 5F 124+ S5NAGSNI [ AOSyasS I LI AC
LGd2NySeé thkedwithhdbiBgiok dithdralve éf lifesustaining treatmen

Veteran:If you are an honorably discharged veteran and wish this to be designated on your driver license or ID card, you may
indicate this on the application form. To have this designation placed on your license or ID card, you must present/egher a
Military DD214 form (Certificate of Release or Discharge from Active Duty), DD form 2 (retired), DD for 2A (reserved\é&tided),
(National Guard DR214) formor a certificate signed by your local Veteran Service Officer.

Organ and TissuBonation

Organ, tissuand eye transplantation are successful, routine procedures that save or improve the lives of thousands of people each
year. Unfortunately, there are many more people waiting for transplants than there are organs and tissuedeavalitabcure to
this crisis is an increase commitment to donation. One organ and tissue donor can save or improve the lives of up tie.60 peop

Organs and tissues that can be donated include heart, lungs, liver, kidneys, pancreas, intestines, ¢onnbasrsvalves, bone,
and connective tissue.

Once a donor is identified, donation coordinatordaib a medical/social historydm the nextof-kin and conduct thorough tests to
determine the medical suitability of the organs. Additional tissue tgstinconducted in order to place the organs with the most
appropriate match.

Recovery of organs and tissue is a surgical procedure. Donors are treated with great care and dignity. The donatialopsocess
not preclude an open casket funeral.

All costgrelated to donation are covered by the procurement organization, which passes those costs on to the transplanting facility.
b2 OKIFINBS&a NBfIFIGSR (2 R2ylFiA2y I NB AyOdaNNBR o0& (G(KS R2y 2N 2

For more information about donation, please ca888-5-DONATE.

In South Dakota when you indicate on your license or identification card that you wish to give the precious gift ofdifeytanb
organ and tissue donor, you are relieving your loved ones of the burden of making that decision fothtirat of your death.
The issuance of a driver license or identification card with a donor designation completes the donation registrationgmdégss
effective unless you request removal of the donor designation.

If you are not planning to applpif a new driver license or nedriver identification card but would like to be designated as an organ
donor on your record, you may register onlinevavw.dps.sd.gov/licensing/drive_licensing youmay contact our office at-605
773688302 200GFAYy (GKS 52y2NJ I YyR ¢A&dadzS wSIAaGNR C2N¥YO hyO0S &2
donor sticker to affix to your driver license or ndriver identification card.

If at some future time you decide to amend or revoke your gift of life, you may do so by removing the organ donor designation from
your driver license or nedriver identification card. For more information regarding amending or revokinggiéiof donation,
please refer to South Dakota Codified L@napter 3426.


http://www.dps.sd.gov/licensing/drive_licensing

Driver License Renewal

Your driver license is valid for 5 years and will expire on your birthday or 30 days after your birthday if you are furnog ghay

renew the license anytime up tb80 days before it expires (unless you will be turning 21). You will be required to take a vision test
when renewing If the driver license you surrender is expired, a knowledge tesalaibe required. Drivers of foreign countries

will be issued adense for the duration of their legal stay based on U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services documents provided &
license issuance, not to exceed 5 years.

SKIP THE TRIP, APPLY ONONEF SO A @S WdzZf & MX HnamnI RNAGBSNI £t AOSyasS NBySsl
permit may be done online. For more information gosew.dps.sd.gov/licensing/driver_licesing

Keeping Your Driver License
In order to keep your driver license, you must drive safely at all times. You can lose your license for:
1 adrug onviction in a vehicle

1 aconvictian for driving while intoxicated

1 an dcohol conviction by a minor

91 refusing to be tested for alcohol or drugs if you areeastio do so by a police officer

9 driving during a period of coureatence prohibiting driving

9 driving while license is suspendiecanceled, revoked, or denied

1 giving false information when you applgrfa driver license or mon-driver identification card

9 failing to settle a financial judgment made against you for damages regtittm a motor vehicle accident

§ attempting to change the information on your licen8eNJ dzA Ay 3 a2YS2y S St asSQa A

(@]
w
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9 failingto appear for a reexamination when request to do so by Driver Licensing

1 using a motor vehicle to commit a felony or causing the death of somén a motor vehicle accident

1 having too many points on your driving record, as dictated by the current ggstem

9 failure to maintain proof of insurance on every vehicle owpnedperating a vehicle without proof of insurance
1 any conviction of a traffic violation committed prior to the age of 16 by the holder of gicesi permit or learner permit
9 failure topay a fine resulting from aoaviction of a moving violation

1 owing debt to a South Dakota governmegency totaling $1,000 or more

1 any convictions for violating the restrictions of the licensedairiver under 18 years of age

1 vandalism in anotor vehide

1 sale/distribution of alcohol® a minor under 21 years of age

1 possession of alcohol bymainor under 21 years of age

1 eluding law enforcement


http://www.dps.sd.gov/licensing/driver_licensing

Revocation and Suspension of License

Revocation The loss of a driver license and/or privilege to driveapply for a license. Following revocation, all applicable tests will
be required in addition to the application fee and a $8200 reinstatement fee.

Reinstatement from &evocation

A person whose license has been revoked, suspended or disqualifiediieetelly law to pay a license reinstatement fee of $50
$200 in addition to the application fee when he/she is eligible to apply for a license. Vision and knowledge tests wuiirbd re
following a revocation; and in certain instances, the driving telitalgo be required.

Reinstatement Fees are asliews (Must Apply in Person)
First DWI $75; second DWI$125; third and subsequent D@1t $175; 2nd reckless driving conviction in one ye#t00; eluding a
police officer- $100; vehicular battery $200; vehicular homicide$200; all others types of revocation$50

SuspensionThe loss of a driver license and/or privilegedrive or apply for a license.

Reinstatement from &uspension:

Following suspension, no testing will be required unlésslicense has expireén gplication fee and a $5fkinstatement fee will
be required

Effective July T, 2017:Applicants may reinstate from a suspension online at DPS.SD.GOV

Restricted Driver License
Under certain circumstances, a driver whadisense is under suspension or revocation may be issued a restricted driver license
enabling them to drive under certain restrictions imposed by the Department. These restrictions will be noted on thecdmger. |

wWSAGNROGSR aAy2NRa t SNXYAQ

If the Depatment receives record of a conviction for a traffic violation or a violation of the restricted permit for a minor under 16
years of age, the driving privileges shall be suspended for a period of thirty days or as otherwise required by law. A second
convich 2y aKIFff NBadzZ d Ay adzalLlSyarzy 2F (KS RNAGAYy3I LINA@kt S3S
longer. Receipt of a conviction for a Class 1 Misdemeanor or Felony will result in a suspension of the license untii thigtinda/

or as required by law. If the department receives a conviction for a violation of the restrictions of the license for 46rondr7

years of age, the driving privileges shall be suspended for 30 days for each conviction.

A person who has ainstruction or restricted permit suspended for a first traffic conviction (or violation of the permit restrictions)
need not pay the $50 reinstatement fee and application fee unless the suspension is for a conviction of a moving treféerudfe
assesad six or more points.

Vehicle Registration & Titles

All motor vehicles, motorcycles, and trailers owned by South Dakota residents and operated on public highways must teslregiste
gAGK GKS [/ 2dzyie ¢ NBI adz2NBNJ 2 FdayjiskoSegibtaradfehio® brgught i@ fromfriothe® SafeOS @ | 2
Registration renewals are determined on a staggered registration renewal system based on the first letter in your laSteieame.

chart below:

January A, B February C,D,E March F,G,J
May H, 1,0 June K, L July M, N
August P,Q,R September S November T,UV, W, XY,

A Certificate of Title is required to sell or transfer any vehicle. The Title should be kept in a safe place, not ircldhenhehi
registration certificate must be carrigd the vehicle at all times.

For further information on Vehicle Registration & Titles, contact the South Dakota Department of Revenue, Division of Motor
Vehicles, at 60573-3541 orhttp://dor.sd.gov.
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FinancialResponsibility

Any operator who has had their driver license revoked or suspended following a JUDGMENT (resulting from an uninsured auto
accident), a conviction for NO INSURANCE, VEHIGIQMKIDE, DWI, or two convictions of RECKLESS DRIVING (withjiaaa one
period) must establish proof of financial responsibility for the future before they may driveragister any vehicle in this state.
Most motorists provide proof of financial responsibility for the future by having their auto insurance comgaag 8IR22 form with
the Driver Licensing Program. TheZ2Rorms must be received at the central office (the driver exam stations are unable to accept
SR22 forms).

Are you Insured?

South Dakota state law SDCL-32113 requires the owner of any motor veke required to be registered at all times maintain in
force one of the following forms of financial responsibility.

1. hgySNDRa LR2ftA0Oe 2F tAFLOAtfAGE Ayada2NI yOSo

2. The bond of a surety company.

3. Certificate of Deposit or securities in the amount of $50,88po0sited with the State Treasurer.

4. Certificate of Selfnsurance (minimum 26 vehicles)

Written evidence of your financial responsibility must be carried in the vehicle covered and presented to any Law Enforcement
Officer upon request. Acceptable writteevidence is an insurance policy or identification card identifying the name of the company,
policy number, effective date of coverage and the date of expiration, or Certificate of Deposit issued by the State Toeasurer
Certificate of Selfnsurance.

Penalty- A conviction for failure to maintain proof of financial responsibility is a Cldéis@&meanor (30 dayimprisonment in a
county jail,$100 fine or both), driver license suspension for a period of not less than 30 days or more than one yakngapradéf

of insurance (SR2) with the State of SD for 3 years from dateligibility. (Failure to file proof will result in suspension of vehicle
registration, license platesnd driver license.)

South Dakota Point System

Any operator who accumulas 15 points in any 12 consecutive months, or 22 points in any 24 consecutive months, is subject to
Driver License suspension.

When multiple offenses arise out of a single incident, points will be assessed on the offense carrying the highest point valu

No points will be assessed for speedingnstiag, parking, equipment, size weight violations, including speed limits set by the
Department of Transportation for control of size and weight related damage to highways.

Points are assessed on enftstate convictions just as if committed in South Dakota.
PLIRY 2LISNI G2NDRa NBljdz2Sadx + KSFENARY3I A& LINPBARSR 0ST2NB 4&dzlL
Periods of Suspension:

First Suspension 60 days

Second Suspension 6 months
Subsequent Suspensionl year
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Points areassessed as follows:

Conviction For: Points
Driving While Intoxicated 10*
Reckless Driving 8
Eluding/Attempting to Elude 6
Drag Racing 6
Failure to Yield Right of Way 4
Improper Passing 4
Driving on the Wrong Side of the Roadway 4
Stop Sign/Lighw/iolation 3
Other Moving Violation 2

*State law requiregevocation of license for Driving While Intoxicatamhvictions

Before You Drive

Your safety and that of the public depends a lot on what you do before driving, including adjusting the seutrarg] using safety
belts, checking your vehicle, maintaining a clear view and securing items in and on the vehicle.

Trip Planning

There are ways you can help reduce your driving costs. First, determine your overall transportation needs. For eatérimipe if
it is necessary. If so, there may be times you do not need to drive yourself. You might ride with someone else or yakeould t
public transportation if it is available.

The best way to prolong the life of your car and save on fuel isé¢dtias little as possible. Trip planning can make your life easier
and help cut down on your driving.

9 Take public transportation when it is available.

1 Avoiddriving during heavy traffic. auses extra wear and tear on you and the vehicle.

1 Use carpols or share rides whenever possible

1 Plan, and then combine your trips. Make a list of the things you need and the places you need to go. Go to as many place
as possible on any one trip. Try to reduce the number of places you need to go. Thisdaile on the number of trips
you need to take.

1 Call ahead to make sure that they have what you need or thettwou are picking up is ready.

By doing these things you can help cut down on the amount of traffic on the road, cut your travel costyvagdwaself time and
effort.
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Check the Vehicle

How safely you can drive starts with the vehicle you are driving. It is the duty of drivers to make certain that the thehidieive

are safe to operate. A vehicle that is in bad shape is unsafe anslmase to run than one that is maintained. It can break down or
cause a collision. If a vehicle is in bad shape, you might not be able to get out of an emergency situation. A vehitkhepgoman
give you an extra safety margin when you need it, amal yever know when you will need it.

L 2dz aK2dzZA R F2tft26 @2dzN) 9SKAOES 26y SNDa YIlydzrt F2NJ NRdziAyS$S
qualified mechanic. A few simple checks will help prevent trouble on the road.

Brakingsystem- Only your brakes can stop your vehicle. It is very dangerous if they are not working properly. If they do not seem to
be working properly, are making a lot of noise, smell funny, or the brake pedal goes to the floor, have a mechanic check them

Lights- Make sure that turn signals, brake lights, taillights and headlights are operating properly.
These should be checked from the outside of the vehicle. Brake lights tell other road users that you are stopping agublaneki
them you are turnig.

An outof-line headlight can shine where it does not help you and may blind other drivers. If you are having trouble seeing at night
or if other drivers are constantly flashing their headlights at you, have a mechanic check the headlights.

Windshieldand wipers Damaged glass can more easily break in a minor collision or when something hits the windshield. Have a
damaged windshield replaced.

Windshield wipers keep the rain and snow off the windshield. Some vehicles also have wipers for rear &imd tvvadlights.
Make sure all wipers are in good operating condition. If the blades are not clearing water well, replace them.

Tires- Worn or bald tires can increase your stopping distance and make turning more difficult when the road is wet. Unbalanced
tires and low pressure cause faster tire wear, reduce fuel economy, and make the vehicle harder to steer and stop.itflthe veh
bounces, the steering wheel shakes, or the vehicle pulls to one side, have a mechanic check it.

22N}y GANBE OFYyyodyaaS|I §RERMENSF &S (GKS OKFIyOS 2F KFE@Aay3 | Ff
Tire PressurePriorto entering a vehicle, check tire pressure using the recommended psi (pounds per square inch) located in the
GSKAOE S 2¢gySNRA Yl ydzZdt 2N 6KS RNAGSNRA &aARS R22NJ psigabor T
the numker listed on your door jamb, let air out until it matches. If below, add air (or have a tire professional help you) until it
reaches the proper number.

Check the tread with a penny. Stick the penny into the tread "head" first. If the tread does notatdeast to Abe's head, the tire
is unsafe and you need to replace it.

Steering systemlf the steering is not working properly, it is difficult to control the direction you want to go. If the vehicle is hard to
turn or does not turn when the steeringheel is first turned, have the steering checked by a mechanic.

Suspension systefYour suspension helps you control your vehicle and provides a comfortable ride over varying road surfaces. If
the vehicle bounces a lot after a bump or a stop, or islihiarcontrol, you may need new shocks or other suspension parts. Have a
mechanic check it out.

Exhaust systemThe exhaust system helps reduce the noise from the engine, helps cool the hot gases coming from running the
engine, and moves these gases te tlear of the vehicle. Gases from a leaky exhaust can cause death inside a vehicle in a very shor
time. Never run the motor in a closed garage. If you sit in a vehicle with the motor running for a long time, open a window.

Some exhaust leaks are easigahd but many are not. This is why it is important to have the exhaust system checked periodically.
Engine- A poorly running engine may lose power that is needed for normal driving and emergencies, may not start, gets poor fuel
economy, pollutes the aignd could die on you when you are on the road, causing you and traffic a problem. Follow the procedures

recommended in the owner's manual for maintenance.
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Loose objectsMake sure that there are no loose objects in the vehicle that could hit someone in the event of a sudden stop or
crash. Make sure there are no objects on the floor that could roll under the brake pedal and prevent you from stoppirigdiee ve

Horn- The horn may not seem like it is important for safety; but as a warning device, it could save your life. Only use youahorn as
warning to others.

Windshield & Windows
It is important that you are able to see clearly through the windows, windshield andnsirHere are some things you can do to
help.

Windshields, side wings or side windows forward of, either side of, or adjacent & thi& NJ séa2 WAy aot be covered with one
way glass, adhesive film, or other application that reduces the light inéitemce to a level below 35%. No motor vehicle may be

equipped with oneway glass, adhesive film, or other glaze in the rear windows that reduces light transmission below 20%, with an
enforcement tolerance of 9%.

1 Keep the windshield clean. Bright sunheadlights on a dirty windshield make it hard to see. Carry liquid cleaner and a
paper or cloth towel so you can clean your windshield whenever it is necessary.

1 Keep your window washer bottle full. Use antifreeze wash in areas where the temperatudefaibbelow freezing.

1 Keep the inside of your windows clean, especially if anyone has been smoking in the vehicle. Smoking causes a film to bu
up on the inside glass.

1 Clear snow, ice, or frost from all windows before driving. Make sure you diednant, sides and back.
1 Do not hang things form your mirror or clutter up the windshield with decals. They could block your view.
1 Keep the headlights, backup, brake and ligtits clean. Dirt on the lenses can reduce the light by 50%.
Adjust Seatand Mirrors
You should always check your seat and mirrors before you start to drive. Make any adjustments to the seat and mirroysiefore

drive off.

1 Adjust your seat so that you are high enough to clearly see the road. If necessary, useusisigat. Do not move the seat
so far forward that you cannot easily steer.

91 Adjust your rear view mirror and side mirrors. You should be able to see out the back window with the rear view mirror
and to the sides with the side mirrors. A good adjustnfenthe side mirrors is to set them so that when you lean forward
slightly, you can see just the side of your vehicle.

1 If you have a dayight mirror, make sure it is séor the time of day you are driving.

1 Head restraints are designed to prevent wigsh if you are hit from behind. They should be adjusted so the head restraint
contacts the back of your head.

Use Safety Belts and Child Restraints
Before you drive away, always fasten your safety belts and make sure all your passengers are usibglsabetghild restraints.
Also remember to lock the vehicle's doors.

It is important that you and your passengers use safety belts. Studies have shown that if you are in an accident wk#éetysing

belts, your chances of being hurt or killed areaghg reduced. In South Dakota, it is illegal to drive or to be a fssat passenger
without wearing safety belts.
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If your vehicle has a twpart safety belt system, be sure to wear both the lap belt and the shoulder belt. Wearing either part alone
greaty reduces your protection. If you have an automatic shoulder belt, be sure to buckle your lap belt as well. Otherwise, in a
collision you could slide out of the belt and be hurt or killed.

In addition to protecting you from injury as a driver, safetytbélelp you keep control of the vehicle. If you are struck from the side
or make a quick turn, the force could push you sideways. You cannot steer the vehicle if you are not behind the wheel.

Safety belts should be worn even if the vehicle is equipped aif bags. While air bags are good protection against hitting the
steering wheel, dashboard, or windshield, they do not protect you if you are hit from the side or rear or if the vetsadeenllAnd,
an air bag will not keep you behind the wheel lire$e situations.

The law requires that all operators, front seat passengers and children under the age of 18 wear appropriate safetysresiitaint
the vehicle is in motion. Small children should be secured imghaeseat. Never secure a child in tihent passengereat, especially
if your vehicle has an air bag. If you are in a crash and the bag deploys, your child could be injured. A number ofargavilzat
loan you a child safety device if you are unable to afford one.

What is an infant car arrier?

It's a reclining seat specially engineered to give babies the best possible protection. The child rides facing backwts @sitivith

head and body cushioned by impaadtsorbing materials. The carrier is securely attached to the vehicle's gehe lap belt, while

the built-in harness holds the baby firmly in place. Thousands of parents have found that babies can ride happily and safely in car
carriers.

Do not confuse infant car carriers with baby seats. Baby seats may be useful in thethdus®e, not made to protect a baby in the
vehicle and should not be used there.

Use the carrier from birth until your child can sit well alone, at about 9 months of age. Many models can then be conteerted i
upright, forward facing safety seats for todds.

1 An adult's arms are not safe: Ordinarily, a parent's arms are a very secure place for a child, but this is not so @ a vehicl
Even if you are wearing a lap and shoulder belt yourself, the child would be torn from your grasp by the violent forces of a
collision. Never put a belt around you aadchild on youtap. Your own weight, greatly increased by collision forces would
press the belt deeply into the child's body; this could lead to serious or even fatal injuries.

1 Beginning with the very first ridghe drive home from the hospitethe baby should be carried in an approved safety
restraint.

1 As arule, the back seat is safer than the front, and the center of the vehicle is safer than the sides. But bear intmind tha
driver who must turn around frequely to check on children in the back may get into an accident situatimistthat every
passengebuckleup. Apart from the risk of themselves, unrestrained passengers often injure others who are belted in.

South Dakota Codified Laws Chapter-32 Child Passenger Restraint System

Section

32-37-1. Use of system requirelfiolations as petty offense.

32-37-1.1. Operator to assure that passengers between ages five and eighteen wear seat belts.
32-37-1.2. Certain operators required to wear seat belts.

32-37-1.3. Passengers between ages fourteen and eighteen required to wear seat belts.
32-37-2. Exemptions.

32-37-4. Violation not considered negligence or assumption of-egilence inadmissible.

32-37-1. Use of system require¥iolations as petty offeise. Any operator of any passenger vehicle transporting a child under five
years of age on the streets and highways of this state shall properly secure the child in a child passenger restraiat sysierg

to its manufacturer's instructions. The chpdssenger restraint system shall meet Department of Transportation Mégbicle

Safety Standard 213 as in effect January 1, 1981. The requirements of this section are met if the child is under fivageearslds

at least forty pounds in weight by sering the child in a seat belt. An operator who violates this section commits a petty offense.
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32-37-1.2. Certain operators required to wear seat belt&\ny operator of any passenger vehicle operated on a public street or
highway in this state, who ig &east fourteen years of age and under eighteen years of age, shall wear a properly adjusted and
fastened safety seat belt system, required to be installed in the passenger vehicle if manufactured pursuant to Federal Motor
Vehicle

Safety Standard Numbe08 (49 C.F.R. 571.208) in effect January 1, 1989, at all times when the vehicle is in motion. A violation of
this section is a petty offense.

32-37-2. Exemptions.The provisions of 337-1, 3237-1.1, 3237-1.2, and 3237-1.3 do not apply in passengears manufactured
before 1966 that have not been equipped with seat belts.

32-37-4. Violation not considered negligence or assumption of riskidence inadmissible Failure to comply with the provisions of
this chapter is not considered as contributorygtigence, comparative negligence or assumption of the risk and is not admissible as
evidence in the trial of any civil action.

Car Seat Guide

Infant Seats
9 For children up to 20 pounds
1 Always face rearward
1 Recline 30 degrees

Toddler/Convertible CaGeats
1 Forinfants and children up to 40 pounds
1 Forinfants, recline and face rearwards
1 For toddlers, upright and forward facing

Booster Seats
1 For toddlers at least 30 pounds
T adzad 0SS dzaSR 6AiGK | GSGKSNBR KI NYI& &Lan bg MkdavkhJustia REBOER ifat hadd L
a shield.

A Car Seat is Usddcorrectlyif:
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I The harness straps are not used or are very loose
1 Aninfantis facing forward
1 Atop tether strap is present lhunot used.
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in deep waterand you are "trapped", seldom happen. Even if an accident such as this were to happen, a safety belt may keep you
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25 miles of home. Many of them occur on roads posted at less than 45 mph.
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much better if you stay inside the vehicle. Safety belts can keep you from being thrown out of yole,iatdcghe path of another
vehicle

GLF L 3ISG KAG FNRY (KS AARST L NEVYOSBKSSKHIN2EK 0BAYHPEKRESY
side, it will move sideways. Everything in the vehicle that is not fastened down, including the passengers, will slidhtopaird

of crash, not away from it.
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! G at2¢ alLISSRa"Evehat Z5lmyh, theNdrod & a headic@sh ¥ the same as pedaling a bicyclesfudled into a
brick wall or diving off a threstory building onto the sidewalk 2 2y S OlF'y o N} OS¢ F2NJ GKI G

Front Seat Seatbelt Use Requirements

South Dakota Codifieldaw 3238-1: Use requiree-Public highwaysFront seat passenger. Except as provided in chapte3732nd

§ 32-38-3, every operator and front seat passenger of a passenger vehicle operated on a public highway in this state shall wear a
properly adjusted ad fastened safety seat belt system, required to be installed in the passenger vehicle when manufactured
pursuant to Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard Number 208 (49 C.F.R. 571.208) in effect January 1, 1989, at all tihees when
vehicle is in forwaranotion. The driver of the passenger vehicle shall secure or cause to be secured a properly adjusted and
fastened safety seat belt system on any passenger in the front seat who is at least five years of age but younger tieanyeigste

of age. Any violéon of this section is not a moving traffic offense under the provisions3#§2-49.1.
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Rules Of The Road

There are traffic rules that say where, when and how fast you can drive. These rules help to keep traffic moving safely.
Rulesof the road include traffic control devices, rigbt-ways, and parking rules.

Traffic Control Devices

Traffic control devices include traffic signals, signs, and pavement markings. Traffic control also can be provided by lav
enforcement, highwayersonnel, or school crossing guards. You must obey directions from these persons.

Traffic Signals

Traffic signals are lights that tell you when or where to stop and go. A
GaINBSy¢ tAIKG YSIya e2dz Oy 32 AT
andr GNBR¢E fAIKG YSIya ad2LI0 ¢NI FTA
are green, yellow, and red from bottom to top, when together. There are
some intersections and other locations where there are single green, yellow,
or red lights.

A steady GREENffic light means you can go through the intersection. You must yield to emergency vehicles and
others as required by law. If you are stopped and then the light turns green, you must allow crossing traffic to clear the
intersection before you go ahead. ARGEN arrow means you can safely turn in the direction of the arrow. There should
be no orrcoming or crossing traffic while the arrow is green. If you are turning left, a steady green traffic light means yol
may turn but only when safe to do so. Oncomiraffic has the righbf-way. Be alert for signs that prohibit left turns.

When turning right or left, watch for pedestrians crossing in front of your vehicle.

A steady YELLOW traffic light means the traffic light is about to change to red. You musit #aafe to do so. If you

are in the intersection when the yellow light comes on, do not stop but continue through the intersection. A flashing
YELLOW traffic light means slow down and proceed with caution. A YELLOW arrow means that the protegteemof a
arrow is ending and if you are turning in the direction of the arrow, you should prepare to stop and give the right of way
to oncoming traffic before turning. If you are turning left, a flashing YELLOW arrow traffic light means you may turn but
onlywhen safe to do so. Oncoming traffic has the right of way.

A steady RED traffic light means stop. This device is to alert you of the red light and that you must stop. You must wait
until the traffic light turns green and there is no crossing traffic befgsu may move ahead. If you are turning right, you
may turn after coming to a full stop, if it is safe to do so and if there is no sign prohibiting the turn on a red light. Be
careful of pedestrians crossing in front of your vehicle. A flashing RED ligiifimeans the same as a stop sign. You

must come to a full stop and then may proceed when it is safe to do so. A RED arrow means you must stop and you
cannot go in the direction of the arrow. You may proceed when the red arrow goes out and a gregmilight goes

on.

If a traffic control signal is out of operation or is not functioning properly, the vehicle facing a:
1. Green signal may proceed with caution as indicated in South Dakota Codified Law (SEZ82;) 32
2. Yellow signal may proceed with cautias indicated in SDCL-2&3;
3. Red or completely unlighted signal stop shall stop in the same manner as if the vehicle is at a stop sign.

Traffic Signs

Traffic signs tell you about traffic rules, hazards, where you are, how to get where you arempbinbexe
services are located. The shape and color of these signs give clues to the type of information they provide.
1



Warning Signs These signs are usually yellow with black lettering or symbols, and most are diamond shaped.
These signs warn you to slow down and be prepared to stop if necessary. It warns you that a special situation or a
hazard is ahead. Some common warning sigashown below.

The Low Clearance sign wams
driver of clearance less than the
maximum vehicle height permitted.

The T symbol sign wams traffic
approaching a T intersection on the
road that forms the stem of the T.

An Added Lane sign wams of two
roadways converging and merging
movements are not required.

The Hill sign wams of a downgrade
where the length, percent of grade,
horizontal curvature, or other
physical features require special
precautions on the part of drivers.

The Deer Crossing sign alerts vehicle
operators of unexpected entries into the
roadway by deer. These crossings may be
relatively confined, or may occur
randomly over a substantial distance of
roadway. The distance of the crossing
area may be posted below the sign. There
are similar signs for pedestrians, trucks,
bicyclists, and other potential conflicts.

The Advisory Speed Plate sign is
used in conjunction with any
waming sign to indicate the
maximum recommended speed
around a curve or through a
hazardous location.

A Merge sign wams that merging
movements may be encountered
where two roadways converge.

The Lane Reduction Transition
sign wamns of the reduction in the

| number of traffic lanes in the

direction of travel on a multi-lane
highway.

The Slippery When Wet sign wams
of a condition where the highway
surface is extraordinarily slippery
when wet.

The School Crossing sign is used in
advance of locations where school
buildings or grounds are adjacent to
the highway. It may also be used
for school crossings not adjacent o
a school ground. The absolute
speed limit in a school zone is 15
mph when children are present or
check your local city ordinance.
This sign may be either yellow or
lime green in color.



Railroad Crossing Warning Sigridany railroad crossings have signs or signals to warn drivers. Never try to beat a train across the
tracks. Never start to cross if there is not room for your vehicle on the far side and if you wilichstop on the tracks. Wait until

there is room for your vehicle on the far side. It is wise not to shift gears when crossing railroad tracks, just in caigétystall.
Remember that trains are large and may be moving faster than they appear t@egn Some common railroad crossing warning
signs and signals are shown in the illustrations below.

N/

« A round yellow waming sign with an “X" symbol and black "RR”
letters is placed along the road before you get to a railroad crossing. ‘

» A white, X-shaped sign or “crossbuck™ with “Railroad Crossing” on it
iIs located at the railroad crossing. This sign has the same meaning A railroad Advance
as a "Yield” sign. You must yield to crossing trains. Waming sign is used

to warn of a highway-
railroad crossing.

| JP )
‘f./'{a v \% Railroad flashing light signals and crossbuck signs are found at most
) .;;9 public crossings. These signs should be treated the same way as
airy -’Pa a yield sign. The driver should slow down and be prepared to stop
. (_,QH -fa ) upon sighting a train. If there is more than one track, a sign below the

crossbuck indicates the number of tracks at this crossing.

o

I At some crossings, along with the crasgk sign, you will see sidgy-side lights that will flash alternately when a train
isapproaching When the lights are flashing, you must stop. At some crossings thalsoa crossing gate that will
lower when a train is coming. Do not drive around the gate. Some crossings also have a bell or a horn that will sound
Do not cross uriltthe bell or horn has stopped.

9 Crossings with more than one train track will often post a sign that shows the number of tracks. These signs warn you
that there is more than one track and there may be more than one train crossing. Not all cragisingsre than one
train track will have these signs so it is important to check for more than one track before crossing.

Railroad Emergency Notification System (ENS)
1 Everygrade crossingas an emergency dispatgione rumberfor contacting the railrod to report problems with the
crossing, tracks or train.
1 The ENS number is typically located on a blue sign on the railroad crossing sign or near the graddexasgiheg of
sign below)
f ¢KS aArdy |taz2 O2yiGlAya | 5h¢ ydzYoSNI GKI G ARSYGAFASA (
railroad personnel can respond.

This information is crucial for ALL DRIVERS to know this is the best and most efficient way to contaciitbadsif there is a
problem at the crossing or if something is blocking the tracks. By providing the DOT numbers the dispatchers know exasty wh
the grade crossing is and can notify trains moving in that direction to either come to stop or be plaoea speed restriction.

REPORT EMERGENCY
OR PROBLEM

T0 1-800-555-5555
CROSSING 836 597 H

Work Area SignsThese construction, maintenance, or emergency operations signs are generally diamond or rectangular shaped,
orange with black letters or symbols and warn you that people are working on or near the roadway. These warnings inahede redu
speed, detoursslow moving construction equipment, and poor or suddenly changing road surfaces. In work areas, traffic may be
controlled by a person with a sign or flag. You must obey these persons.

3



The Foad Work
sign serves as a
general waming of
cbstructions or
resirictions.

The Workers sign is
used to alert drivers

of workers in or near
the roadway.

The Flagger sign is used
in advance of where a
flagger is stationed to
control traffic.

Regulatory SignsThese signs are square, rectangular, or havesgiapshape and are usually white, red or black with black, red,
white or green letters or symbols. They give you information about rules for traffic direction, lane use, turning, spkied), sad
other special situations.

NO

PARKING

The Mo Parking sign
prehibits parking in
this area.

LEFT TURN

YIELD

ON GREEN

This Traffic Signal sign
reminds you of your
chligation to yield to on
coming traffic if you are
tuming left and there is a
green ball displayed ata
signalized intersection.

DO NOT
ENTER

The Do Mot Enter sign is
used to prohibit traffic
from entering a restricted
road. They are one-way
against you. You will see
them at exit ramps and at
one-way strests.

FINE
DOUBLED

The Fine Doubled sign
informs you that the
speeding fines will be
doubled in construction
zones.

Some regulatory signs haaered circle with a red slash over a symbol. These signs prohibit certain actions, i.e., no left turn, no right
turn, no Uturn, etc. Examples of regulatory signs below:

Speed Limit Signghese signs indicate the maximum safe speed allowed or the minimum safe speed required. The maximum limit
should be driven only in ideal driving conditions and you must reduce your speed when conditions require it. For example, yo
should reduce yourpeed when the roadway is slippery, during rain, snow, icy conditions, or when it is foggy and difficult to see
clearly down the road. Some high speed roads have minimum speed limits and you are required to travel at least thds fasit so

to be a hazat to other drivers. If the minimum posted speed is too fast for you, you should use another road.

The speed limit sign indicates the maximum or minimum safe speed that is allowed. The metric equivalent may also be provided

SLFI’hEMETD SPEED SPEED

LIMIT

65 LIMIT || 75

v 50 [1zo

km/h




= [ ane Use Control Signs. These signs tell you where you can go, where you can turn and often
use an arrow symbol. These signs can be located on the side of the road or hanging over the lane of

travel. Sometimes arrows may be painted on the road as a supplement to the signs.

ONLY

* Mo Passing Signs. These signs tell you where passing is not permitted.

Passing areas are based on how far you can see ahead. They consider unseen

hazards such as hills and curves, intersections, driveways and other places a vehicle

may enter the roadway. These signs, along with pavement markings, indicate

where you can pass another vehicle, the beginning and ending of a passing zone or

where you may not pass. Where it is permitted to pass, you may do soonly if it is

safe. Be aware of road conditions and other vehicles.

NO
|PASSING
ZONE_-

Stop Sign - A stop sign has eight sides and is red with white letters.

You must come to a full stop at a stop sign or stop line, if one is present.
You must wait until crossing vehicles and pedestrians have

cleared, and pull forward only when it is safe to do so.

Yield Sign - Avyield sign is a downward pointing

QE? tniangle. It is red and white with red letters. It
means you must slow down and yield the nght-of-
way to traffic in the intersection you are crossing
or roadway you are entering.

The No Passing Zone sign wamns of the beginning of a no
passing zone. It is found on the left side of the road.

Slow Moving Vehicle - A reflective orange triangle on the rear of a vehicle means

it is traveling less than 25 mph. You may see this decal on construction
equipment and in rural areas on farm vehicles or horse drawn wagons or

carmages.




Commeon types of Guide Signs are:

Destination Signs - These signs are square or rectangular shaped and are green or brown with
white lettering. They show directions and distance to vanous locations such as cities, airports, or
state lines or to special areas such as national parks, historical areas or museums.

Spearfish 10 41% Street o

State Park
3 Miles

Rapid City 59 1 MILE

Service 5igns - These signs are square or rectangular shaped and are REST AREA
blue with white letters or symbols. They show the location of vanous 1 MILE
services such as rest areas, gas stations, campgrounds, or hospitals.

Route Number Signs - The shape and color of route number signs indicate the type of roadway:
interstate, U.S_, state, city, or county road. When planning a trip, use a road map to determine your
route. During the trip, follow the route signs to prevent you from getting lost.

I.m" A .

PavementMarkings

Lines and symbols on the roadway divide lanes, tell you when you may pass other vehicles or change lanes, which lan
to use for turns, define pedestrian walkways, and where you must stop for signs or traffic signals. Edge and Lane Line
Solidlines along the side of the road show you where the edge of the road is located.

1 White lane marking Multiple lanes of travel in the same direction are separated by white lane markings. A
dashed white line between lanes of traffic means that you magscibto change lanes if it is safe to do so. A
solid white line between lanes of traffic means that you should stay in your lane unless a special situation
requires you to change lanes.

1 Crosswalks and stop line&Vhen required to stop because of a smgnsignal, you must stopefore your
vehicle reaches the stop line or if there is one, a crosswalk. Crosswalks defaredh&here pedestrians
may cross the roadway. You must yield to pedestrians in or abaerter a crosswalk. Not all crosswalks
aremarked. Be alert for pedestrians when crossimgrsections.
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1 Yellow lane markingsLines separating traffic moving in opposite directions are yellow. A dashed yellow line
between opposing lanes of traffic means that you may cross it to pass if ieigosaéd so. Some passing
zones have signs that tell you where passing is permitted and where you cannot pass. Where there is both
solid and a dashed yellow line between opposing lanes of traffic, you may not pass if the solid yellow line is
on your sidelf the dashed line is on your side, you may pass if it is safe to do so. Two solid yellow lines
between lanes of traffic means neither side can pass. You may cross a solid yellow line to turn into a
driveway if it is safe to do so.

Other Lane Contra

Shared Center Lane

These center lanes are reserved for making left turns (arrbs when

they are permitted) but can be used by vehicles traveling in both
directions. On the pavement, leftrn arrows for traffic in one direction
alternatewith left-turn arrows for traffic coming from the other direction.
These lanes are marked on each side by solid yellow and dashed yellow
fAySaod LYy a42YS INBlFas GKS akKkNBR OF
during rush hours. Be sure you can enter e before you do so and
only if it is safe to do so.




