## PUBLIC NOTICE OF TITLE VI PROGRAM RIGHTS

The State of South Dakota, Department of Public Safety, Driver Licensing Program gives public notice of its policy to uphold and assure full compliance with Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, the Civil Rights Restoration Act of 1987, and all related nondiscrimination authorities. Title VI and related nondiscrimination authorities prohibiting discrimination in Federally-assisted programs require that no person in the United States of America shall on the grounds of race, color, or national origin, sex, age, disability, low-income or limited English proficiency be excluded from the participation in, be denied the benefits of, or be otherwise subjected to discrimination under any program or activity receiving Federal financial assistance.

Any person who desires more information regarding the State of South Dakota, Department of Public Safety, Driver Licensing Program Title VI Program can contact its Title VI Coordinator, John Broers, Program Director at the address noted below.

Any person who believes they have been aggrieved has the right to file a formal complaint. Any such complaint must be in writing and submitted within 180 days following the date of the alleged occurrence to:

State of South Dakota
Department of Public Safety
Driver Licensing Program
118 West Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501 (605) 773-6883
dpsdl@state.sd.us

## **Complaint Process**

- A written complaint must include the name, address, telephone number and email address (if applicable) of the complainant.
- If you are sending the complaint on behalf of another party you must include the name and relationship to the person you are filing the complaint on behalf of. Please confirm you have obtained the permission of the aggrieved party if you are filing on someone else's behalf.
- What basis the discrimination was committed under (race, color, sex, age, national origin, or disability).
- An explanation of why you believe you were discriminated against and a description of all people who
  were involved, as well as the names and contact information for any witnesses.
- If you have previously filed a Title VI complaint with this agency, or are submitting this complaint to any other agency.
- If you have filed this complaint with another agency or the court include the name of the agency or court and the address. If you are represented by an attorney include the name, address and phone number of the attorney.
- Sign and date the complaint. The complaint must be filed within 180 days of the alleged occurrence and the Title VI Coordinator or their designee has 60 days to conduct an investigation and prepare preliminary findings.