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50:02:02:04.  Remittance due date. A surcharged jurisdiction shall remit the 911  

 

coordination fee to the Division of Emergency Management for deposit in the South Dakota 911  

 

coordination fund within 30 days after the remittance of the fee from the local exchange access  

 

company to the surcharged jurisdiction. A nonsurcharged county shall remit the 911 coordination  

 

fee to the Division of Emergency Management for deposit in the South Dakota 911 coordination  

 

fund within 90 days after the end of each fiscal quarter. Repealed. 

 

          Source: 19 SDR 108, effective January 24, 1993; 20 SDR 189, effective May 15, 1994. 

 

          General Authority:SDCL 34-45-4.1, 34-45-16. 

 

          Law Implemented:SDCL 34-45-4.1, 34-45-8. 
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50:02:04:03. Call taking standards. The call taking standards for a PSAP shall be as  

 

follows A PSAP shall comply with the following: 

 

(1) No later than July 1, 2010, a PSAP must have Establish standardized call taking  

 

guidelines for fire and law enforcement calls and a policy requiring the use of the guidelines; 

 

(2) No later than July 1, 2010, a PSAP must uUtilize an emergency medical dispatch  

 

(EMD) program that is recognized by the state 911 basic training program South Dakota 911  

 

Coordination Board; 

 

(3) A PSAP must have a written policy establishing Adopt written procedures for  

 

recording and documenting relevant information of every request for service, including: 

 

(a) Date and time of request for service; 

 

(b) Name and address of requester, if available; 

 

(c) Type of incident reported; 

 

(d) Location of incident reported; 

 

(e) Description of resources assigned in response to the incident, if any; 

 

(f) Time of dispatch; 

 

(g) Time of resource arrival; and 

 

  (h)  Time of incident conclusion; 

 

(4) A PSAP must have a written policy establishing Establish written procedures for  

 

prompt handling and appropriate routing of misdirected emergency calls; 

 

(5) A PSAP must have a written policy establishing Establish written procedures for  

 

handling hang-up emergency or 911 calls from wireline and wireless phones; 

 

(6) A PSAP must have Adopt a written policy and the capability to properly handle calls  

 

from non-English speaking callers; and 
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(7) A PSAP must have a written policy and Maintain the capability to properly handle  

 

calls from either non-English speaking, hearing impaired, or and mute callers, or both. 

 

 Source: 36 SDR 100, effective December 14, 2009. 

 

 General Authority: SDCL 34-45-18.2. 

 

 Law Implemented: SDCL 34-45-18.2. 
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 50:02:04:07. Financial standards. A PSAP must be operated according to the following  

 

financial standards: 

 

(1) Any governing body responsible for the operation of a PSAP must maintain within  

 

its accounting system a separate special revenue fund to be identified as the 911 Fund; 

 

(2) The financial balances and activities of the 911 Fund must be accounted for and  

 

reported in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles or other comprehensive  

 

basis of accounting; 

 

(3) Any governing body responsible for the operation of a PSAP must adopt an annual  

 

PSAP budget and submit it to the board on forms provided by the board. The budget must  

 

include all appropriations and the means of financing those appropriations; 

 

(4) Any governing body receiving 911 emergency surcharge funds must deposit all  

 

received funds, including all interest earned on fund investment, in the 911 Fund. The governing  

 

body must keep records identifying each remittance by name of service provider, reporting  

 

period, service user line count, type of services as defined by SDCL 34-45-1, amount of  

 

administrative fees withheld, and remittance amount; 

 

(5) Any governing body that receives 911 emergency surcharge revenue must submit  

 

quarterly surcharge collection reports to the board on forms provided by the board. The quarterly  

 

reports must be submitted within thirty days of the end of the quarter; 

 

(6) (5) Any governing body that receives 911 emergency surcharge revenue must shall  

 

submit an annual 911 Fund financial report to the board detailing all revenue, expenditures, fund  

 

balances, and other financial information as requested on forms provided by the board. The  

 

annual report must shall be submitted to the State 911 Coordinator within sixty days of the end  

 

of the fiscal year by March 31
st
 of each calendar year; 
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(7) (6) No later than January 1, 2011, all other revenues generated by the operation of a 

 

 PSAP must be deposited in the 911 Fund and identified by revenue source code on the annual  

 

financial report; 

 

(8) (7) All grant funds received from the board must be deposited in and expended from  

 

the 911 Fund; and 

 

(9) (8)_ All recurring and nonrecurring costs paid from the 911 Fund must be allowable  

 

expenditures as prescribed by the board. 

 

 Source: 36 SDR 100, effective December 14, 2009. 

 

 General Authority: SDCL 34-45-18.2. 

 

 Law Implemented: SDCL 34-45-18.2, 34-45-20 (4). 
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50:02:04:11. Communication equipment allowed or disallowed as nonrecurring  

 

costs. 911 surcharge funds may be used to pay for radio communication equipment that allows a  

 

PSAP to page and communicate with emergency responders. Such equipment may include: back  

 

room radio equipment and racks, central electronics banks, radio software, desktop radio  

 

consoles, radio computers and servers, control station radios, control station antennas and cables,  

 

mobile radios used by a PSAP as a control station or base station radio, portable radios used in a  

 

PSAP for backup purposes, and repeaters or paging terminals used by a PSAP.  911 surcharge  

 

funds may be used to pay connectivity costs between the PSAP and allowable communication  

 

equipment.  

 

 

911 surcharge funds may not be used to purchase radio communication equipment or  

 

systems for emergency responders or other municipal or county agencies. Prohibited equipment  

 

includes: portable and mobile radios, pagers, cell phones, mobile data terminal and related  

 

equipment, automatic vehicle location (AVL) systems and related equipment, pyramid radios or  

 

systems, warning sirens and related equipment, radio towers, and equipment shelters. 

 

Source:  

 

General Authority: SDCL 34-45-18.2 

 

Law Implemented: SDCL 34-45-18.2, 34-45-20 (5) 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



7 

 

50:02:04:12. Physical addressing costs allowed or disallowed as nonrecurring costs.  
 

911 surcharge funds may be used to pay initial one-time costs associated with a county or  

 

municipality issuing physical addresses for the purpose of implementing Enhanced 911 to  

 

include:  street name signs, map books, and wages related to addressing.  After Enhanced 911  

 

has been implemented in a county, no 911 surcharge funds may be used to pay on-going  

 

maintenance costs related to addressing, street name signs, or map books.   

 

 

Source: 

 

General Authority: SDCL 34-45-18.2 

 

Law Implemented: SDCL 34-45-18.2, 34-45-20 (5) 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



8 

 

 

50:02:04:13 Compliance Reviews. In order for a PSAP to qualify for distributions from  

 

the 911 emergency fund as set forth in SDCL 34-45-8.5, a PSAP must be determined to be in  

 

compliance with the requirements set forth in SDCL chapter 34-45. The State 911 Coordinator  

 

shall conduct formal on-site compliance reviews.  

 

 

PSAPs who meet the geographic or population requirement may request an initial  

 

compliance review by contacting the State 911 Coordinator. The State 911 Coordinator shall  

 

determine compliance or non-compliance and notify the PSAP of the determination within 60  

 

days of the review request.  

 

 

Each PSAP identified as in compliance and eligible for distributions from the 911  

 

emergency fund shall receive such distributions beginning with surcharges collected during the  

 

month in which the PSAP was notified of its compliance with all applicable requirements. After  

 

the initial compliance review, each eligible PSAP shall be reviewed once every calendar year.  

 

 

The report sent to a PSAP identified as non-compliant shall indicate the reason for the  

 

non-compliant determination. A non-compliant PSAP may request a subsequent review by  

 

notifying the State 911 Coordinator in writing of the steps taken to rectify the issues identified in  

 

the report.  

 

 

If any PSAP wishes to contest a determination of non-compliance, the PSAP must notify  

 

the State 911 Coordinator in writing within 30 days of the notification of its status. The  

 

notification shall contain a brief written synopsis of the issue(s) the PSAP wishes reviewed by  

 

the board. The State 911 Coordinator shall forward the written request for review to the board,  

 

and the board shall notice the request for and address the request at the next regularly convened  
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board meeting.  

 

Source:  

 

General Authority: SDCL 34-45-18.2 

 

Law Implemented: SDCL 34-45-2, 34-45-8.5, 34-45-20 (4) 

 

 


