Print Email

Emergency Management



Winter is just around the corner.  Snowfall and blustery winds can make for slippery roads and blizzard conditions.  Are you prepared for the various weather hazards Mother Nature can throw at us this time of year?  For tips to get ready for winter weather season, read our Winter Weather Preparedness Guide.

The South Dakota Office of Emergency Management (OEM) encourages the development of comprehensive preparedness and disaster management plans, programs, capabilities and organizations by the state and its local governments. Because disasters often disrupt the normal functioning of governments, communities and families, OEM provides the organization necessary to expedite aid, rehabilitation and the rapid acquisition and delivery of resources.



Our purpose is to protect South Dakotans and their property from the effects of natural, manmade, and technological disasters.  To fulfill our charge, we recognize the four phases of emergency management:  Preparedness, Response, Recovery, and Mitigation.



The Office of Emergency Management strives to create a rapid, effective, and compassionate emergency management system that wholly prepares our citizens, our communities, and our state to be self-reliant when facing emergencies and disasters and rely less on government.

OEM focuses on four key pillars to plan for emergencies, coordinate response, aid in disaster recovery and, through mitigation, reduce or eliminate loss if the same event should happen again.

DPS Directory

Find a Contact

Search by agency and/or name.

DPS Resource Library

Find the Documents You Need