Print Email

The South Dakota Department of Public Safety Driver Licensing Program provides services without regard to race, color, sex, national origin, age, disability, low-income, or limited English proficiency (LEP)  according to the provision contained in Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and related nondiscrimination authorities.  To file a discrimination complaint, please see the Title VI Complaint Procedure.


The South Dakota Department of Public Safety Driver Licensing Program provides voter registration services in accordance with Section 5 of the National Voter Registration Act (NVRA).  If you have questions or would like to register a complaint, you may reach the DPS NVRA Coordinator, Jeannelle Yitagesu, by calling (605) 773-6883 or by email.

Visit our NVRA webpage for more information.

Take the Driver License Customer Service Survey

South Dakota
Driver Licensing

Important Information

The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) has been notified of a phishing scam that you may receive from the FMCSA “Assistant of Administration” claiming you need to “complete your most recent up-to-date membership License certificate.”   If you receive any suspicious email from or any other entity that you are not expecting or looks suspicious, please delete the email from your inbox.  Once the email has been deleted from your in-box,  go into your deleted mail folder and delete it from your deleted mailbox.  Doing this will limit the exposure of the phishing email.

Note that the only legitimate way to log in to the Training Provider Registry is via  Never enter your email address and password into a third-party website claiming to give you access to the Training Provider Registry.

Entry-Level Driver Training (ELDT)

FMCA's Entry Level Driver Training became a requirement on February 7, 2022.  This includes those applying to:

  • Obtain a Class A or Class B CDL for the first time;
  • Upgrade an existing Class B CDL to a Class A CDL; or
  • Obtain a school bus (S), passenger (P), or hazardous materials (H) endorsement for the first time.

Click here to visit our page for more information about ELDT.

Effective 10/2023, the Brookings Driver Exam Station is now located at 1012 22nd Avenue South, Brookings, SD 57006 (next to Zesto).  Our hours in Brookings are Tuesday-Friday (excluding holidays) from 7AM to 5:30PM (applications accepted until 4:30PM).  Walk-in customers are welcome or schedule an appointment and skip the wait!  Click here to schedule an appointment at this location.

Online or Mail-In Renewal 

Anyone who did not renew online or by mail 5 years ago (or for your last renewal) is eligible!

Read more about the Online or Mail-In renewal process.    

Online Renewal tutorial


Replacement or Duplicate License/ID Card

A replacement or duplicate license or ID card may be requested online or by mail once every 10 years.  Read about requesting a duplicate card here.

Expired License

Drivers with a license expired more than 30 days are required to pass the knowledge test.

Those with a motorcycle endorsement (Class 2 license) expired more than 30 days have to take the  operator's knowledge test and the motorcycle knowledge test. 

Testing visits require an appointment.  Click here to make an appointment or call (605) 773-6883 to schedule.
at a South Dakota driver exam station.

Commercial Driver License (CDL)

Visit our CDL page for information specific to Commercial Driver Licenses (CDLs).


Schedule an Appointment

Walk-in customers are welcome at any driver exam station, but we would encourage you to schedule an appointment the help reduce your wait time.  Click here to use our online scheduling tool! 

Walk-in customers will be accommodated as time allows.  

You can complete your application before you visit the exam stationElectronic, digital, or stamped signatures are not allowed on the application.

For all other driver licensing questions or issues, 
send an email to the Driver Licensing Program staff
or call (605) 773-6883 (be prepared to leave a message).

South Dakota Driver Licensing

Renew Your License Online, Not in Line

Time to renew? Don't spend time in line - renew your license online or by mail. You can also schedule an appointment for a faster trip to your local driver exam station. Review a list of required documents to make sure you have the identification you need. 

Are you a CDL driver?  View commercial driver licensing information
Look up my Driver License/ID card Number


DPS Directory

Find a Contact

Search by agency and/or name.

DPS Resource Library