South Dakota Fire Marshal’s Advisory Board

Under state law 34-29B-19, a State Fire Marshal's Advisory Board was established with five members to help oversee, guide and coordinate initiatives in South Dakota. These initiatives can include fire safety measures, training efforts, planning efforts and fire department grant programs.

Advisory Board Members

Board members are appointed by the Governor and represent firefighters, fire equipment industry and fire insurance underwriters. Not all members may be members of the same political party.

Michael J. Roemmich – Aberdeen Fire and Rescue

Michael currently resides in Aberdeen as a career Lieutenant with Aberdeen Fire and Rescue. After starting as a volunteer firefighter, Michael gained experience across the state in Piedmont, Pierre, and Aberdeen. Since moving to Aberdeen, Michael has expanded his knowledge and job experience to include USAR Tech with the SD Task Force, Certified Rope Rescue Instructor, Certified Ice Rescue Instructor, SD State Driver Operator and Rescue Tech, Hazmat Tech, Specialist and IC. He also holds a position on the board of the South Dakota Fire Instructors Society.


Mike Harstad – Rosenbauer America

Mike is the Government Sales Manager for Rosenbauer America in Lyons, SD. He has worked held positions ranging from Director of Marketing to Production Coordinator.  Mike has been a member of the fire service in South Dakota since 1992, currently serving as the Fire Chief for the Crooks Volunteer Fire Department and as the President of the Minnehaha County Fire Chief’s Association.


Chris Blair – Wildland Fire Suppression

Chris started in the fire service as a volunteer fire fighter with North Haines Volunteer Fire Department.  While serving with North Haines VFD, he held the positions of firefighter, treasurer, and captain.  In 2005, Chris started with South Dakota Wildland Fire Suppression as a seasonal employee on the Bear Mountain Hand Crew.  He worked his way up the ranks as firefighter, squad boss, foreman, crew boss, crew superintendent, and serves in his current position as a program specialist.  Chris is a graduate of Black Hills State University, where he majored in Industrial Technology,  Advanced Manufacturing with a minor in Business Management.  

Rick Gustad – Platte Fire Department

Rick has been Fire Chief for the City of Platte since 2004. Rick was Mayor of the City of Platte from 2008-2015. He serves as an IMAT team member with the SD Office of Emergency Management, board member for the SD Firefighters Association, and a board member on the South Dakota Fire Chiefs Association. Rick works at B&L Communications as an electronics technician doing engineering, repair and installation of public safety communications equipment.


Brian Bowker – Northwest GF Mutual Insurance Company

As President and CEO, Brian has been in the insurance industry since 1985, holding positions ranging from Claims and Underwriting Supervisor to Vice President of Dakota Fire Insurance and Executive Vice President of the Independent Insurance Agents of South Dakota. Brian has a Bachelor of Science degree in Applied Mathematics from the University of North Dakota and holds the professional designations of CPCU (Chartered Property Casualty Underwriter), AU (Associate in Underwriting), and CCLA (Casualty Claims Law Associate).


DPS Directory

Find a Contact

Search by agency and/or name.

DPS Resource Library

Find the Documents You Need