Division Headquarters

The South Dakota Highway Patrol is headquartered in Pierre under Colonel Craig Price, Superintendent of the Highway Patrol. The Motor Carrier Division is also housed here. To respond to situations and enforce laws across the state, the Highway Patrol is divided into five districts.


District One: Aberdeen

District one services the regions around Aberdeen, Huron, Pierre, Watertown and the Glacial Lakes area.


District Two: Sioux Falls

District two covers Sioux Falls and the surrounding regions of Chamberlain, Brookings, Mitchell and Vermillion.


District Three: Rapid City

District three supports the western half of South Dakota including Rapid City and the Black Hills.


District Four: Motor Carrier

District four supports all motor carrier enforcement statewide.


District 9: Special Services

District nine supports the troopers in a statewide capacity with the police service dog unit, aircraft unit, and other various special services.


DPS Directory

Find a Contact

Search by agency and/or name.

DPS Resource Library

Find the Documents You Need